Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation and Elections

Senate Bill 6

Relating to: requiring certain identification in order to vote at a polling place or obtain an absentee ballot, verification of the addresses of electors, absentee voting procedure in certain residential care apartment complexes and adult family homes, identification cards issued by the Department of Transportation, creating an identification certificate issued by the Department of Transportation, requiring the exercise of rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Senators Leibham, Lazich, Vukmir, Kapanke, Grothman, Darling, Galloway, Wanggaard, Kedzie, Ellis, Zipperer, Olsen, Schultz, Moulton, Lasee, Cowles, Hopper, Harsdorf, S. Fitzgerald and Carpenter; cosponsored by Representatives Stone, Tauchen, Honadel, J. Ott, Vos, Pridemore, Bernier, LeMahieu, August, Spanbauer, Kramer, Petersen, Ziegelbauer, Kestell, Ripp, Van Roy, Kerkman, Jacque, Litjens, Nass, Kaufert, Strachota, Steineke, Kapenga, Krug, Farrow, Knodl, Kleefisch, Kooyenga, Ballweg, Endsley, Rivard, Thiesfeldt, A. Ott, Petryk, Williams, Severson, Wynn, Knudson, Kuglitsch, Petrowski, Nygren, Meyer, Bies, Tiffany and Knilans.

January 14, 2011 Referred to Committee on Transportation and Elections.

January 26, 2011 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Lazich, Leibham, Lasee, Erpenbach

and S. Coggs.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Jeff Stone Rep.
- Joe Leibham Sen.
- Kathy Bernier Rep
- Chad Weininger Rep.
- Mary Ann Hanson, Brookfield
- Ardis Cerny, Pewaukee
- John Meegan, Baraboo Sauk County Tea Party
- Jennifer Bartel, Sheboygan
- Michael Sandick, Milwaukee
- Craig Dedo, Brookfield
- Bob Spindell, Milwaukee
- Jim Konowalski, Cedarburg
- Jefferson Davis, Menomonee Falls

- Leon Hebert, Whitewater
- Michael Fernan, Baraboo
- Billie Johnson, Madison
- Paul Lembrich, Janesville
- Kirsten Lombard, Madison
- Ron Erskine, Mequon
- James Kazmierczak, Lodi
- Jon Koniecki, Milton
- Vince Schmuri, Shorewood
- Joyce Keller, Evansville
- Kathleen Kierman, Richfield
- Mary Weigarid, West Bend
- Peter Kosovich, Franklin
- Tim Dake, Franklin
- Joana Briggs, Greendale Greendale Tea Party
- Larry Gamble, Franklin
- Mark Musselman, New Berlin

Appearances Against

- Elizabeth Coggs Rep.
- Peter Slaby, Milwaukee
- Michael Moscicke, Madison United Council of UW Students
- Andrea Kaminski, Madison League of Women Voters of WI
- James Hall, Milwaukee NAACP-Milwaukee Branch
- David Berger, Wauwatosa
- Alicia Boehme, Madison Disability Rights of Wisconsin
- Monica Murphy, Waukesha State Bar of Wisconsin-Individual Rights and Responsibility Section
- Bryon Eagon, Madison
- Leon Burzynski, Pewaukee Wisconsin Alliance for Retired Persons
- Analiese Eicher, Madison
- Maribeth Witzel-Behl, Madison Madison City Clerk
- Scott McDonell, Madison Dane County Board
- Maureen Ryan, Madison Wi Coalition of Independent Living
- Alicia Boehme, Madison WI Coalition of Independent Living
- Scot Ross, Madison One Wisconsin Now
- Charles Elbert Fox, Milwaukee Milwaukee Chapter of ACLU
- Bridget Maniaci, Madison Alder, City of Madison District 2

- Tamara Grigsby Rep
- Benjamin Barrett, Trego
- Jeff Fox, Gordon

Appearances for Information Only

- Kevin Kennedy Government Accountability Board
- Stacy Grunwald, Cleveland Village of Cleveland
- Don Nelson University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Sue Edman, Milwaukee City of Milwaukee Election Commission
- Vikki Zuehlke, Waterford WMCA
- Carla Ledesma, Hartford City of Wauwatosa
- Bruce Landgraf Asst District Attorney Milwaukee County

Registrations For

- Mark Jefferson Republican Party of Wisconsin
- Dave Weinard, West Bend
- Anne Doran, Germantown
- Linda Brody, Colgate
- Kathy O'Conenell, West Bend
- Jack Poland, Brooklyn
- Rick Raulin, Madison
- Leah Vukmir Senator
- Kathy Maves, Oregon
- Stig Rahm, Lodi
- Domenica Ereskine, Mequon
- Gary Keller, Evansville
- DeLores Gates, Lake Mills
- Marvin Munyon, Watertown
- Louise Genge, Watertown
- Bob Dunnigan, Oconomowoc
- Ron Nagel, Verona
- JB Van Hollen Attorney General, Wisconsin Department of Justice
- Roger Bardeel, West Bend
- Sara Rickerson, Portage
- Rick Rickerson, Portage
- Richard Wood, Cottage Grove
- Georgia Jammel, Janesville
- Shelley Mathison, Mukwonago
- Dyanna Soldweded, Lodi
- Kim Pytleski, Oconto Oconto County
- Garlyce Kexes, Brookfield
- Karisue Kujawski, New Berlin

- Dianna Slater, Mayville
- Tom Frieberan, Sauk City Sauk County Patriots
- Phil Grohr, Mayville
- Jayne Gohr, Mayville
- Mary Bardeel, West Bend
- Marilyn Okon, Juneau
- Jeff Uhris, Poynette
- Robert Adams, Watertown
- Luonne Dumak, New Berlin
- Rose Neitzel, Brookfield
- Martha Ryan, Waukesha
- Karen Mueller, Wales
- Pam Galloway Senator
- David Lowry, Hales Corners
- Heizane Zerenects, Muskego
- Edith Gamble, Franklin
- Theresa Gamble, Franklin
- Whitney Gamble
- Marilyn Stauter, Madison
- Anthony Erskine, Verona
- Gayle Reynolds, Muskego
- Julaine Appling, Madison Wisconsin Family Action
- Nancy Milholland, Sturtevant Racine Coungy GOP Board
- Lora Halberstadt, Racine Racine County Tea Party
- Tim Carpenter Senator
- Debbie Morin, West Allis

Registrations Against

- Caroline Gomez, Madison
- Fran Bicknell, Madison
- Jennifer Giegerich, Madison Wisconsin League of Conseration Voters
- Laura Bimbaum-Singler, Madison
- Marsi McCabe, Madison
- Marc Herstand National Association of Social Workers
- Phil Neuenfeldt, Milwaukee Wisconsin State AFL-CIO
- Beverly Speen, Madison Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
- Mary Metz, Madison
- Stacy Harbaugh, Madison ACLU of Wisconsin
- Jorna Taylor, Milwaukee Wisconsin Voices
- Kim Warkentin, Fitchburg America Votes
- Lena Taylor, Milwaukee Senator
- Terese Berceau Representative
- Joanne Elder, Madison

- Jim Berg, Hartford
- Crystal Berg, Hartford
- Adam Korbitz, Madison State Bar of Wisconsin Individual Rights and Responsibilities section
- Sabrina Gentile, Madison WI Council on Children and Families
- Patrick Robbins, Madison
- Nick Milroy Representative
- Leon Young Representative
- Sybil Better, Madison
- Earnestine Moss, Madison
- Chris Thomas-Cramer, Madison Board for Poeple with Developmental Disability
- Gary Ellenberger, Middleton
- Jeremy Shepherd City of Madison
- Sandra Vandervost, Middleton
- Thomas Wandervest, Middleton
- Eilen Lindgren, Middleton
- Victoria Cothroll, Madison
- Ed Cothroll, Madison
- Steve Dake, Madison

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

Tricia Sieg Committee Clerk