Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 486

Relating to: creating the Special Needs Scholarship Program for disabled pupils, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Senators Vukmir, Moulton, Galloway and Darling; cosponsored by Representatives Litjens, Fields, Wynn, Bernier, Bies, Brooks, Endsley, Farrow, Honadel, Jacque, Kleefisch, Knilans, Knudson, Kooyenga, Kramer, Krug and Kuglitsch.

February 16, 2012 Referred to Committee on Education.

February 28, 2012 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Olsen, Vukmir, Grothman, Darling,

Vinehout, C. Larson and T. Cullen.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Leah Vukmir Senator, 5th Senate District
- Sandy Krause, Wauwatosa
- Aaron Krause Wauwatosa Special Needs Group
- Sally Schaeffer, Burlington
- Dani Rossa, Milwaukee
- Tamara Kasper, Milwaukee
- Sue Giaimo, Milwaukee
- Diane Kookel, Milwaukee
- Mrs. O'Brien
- Mr. Perry
- Mrs. Perry
- Mrs. Glatzel
- Mr. Sprewer
- Mr. Tyson
- Craig Peterson, River Hills
- Marlene Markworth, New Berlin Lutheran Special School
- Julie Loomis, Delafield Lutherin Urban Mission Initiative
- Loretta Baughan, Merrill
- Kim Wadas, Madison Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Jim Bender School Choice Wisconsin
- Terry Brown School Choice Wisconsin
- Brian Pleva, Milwaukee American Federation for Children

Rose Fernandez, Mukwonago

Appearances Against

- Dianne Steinbach, Monona Special Education
- Chris Thiel, Milwaukee MPS
- Sara Sharp, Madison BPDD
- Teri Black, Madison Wisconsin Occupational Therapy Association
- Shel Gross, Madison Mental Health America of WI
- Dan Rossmiller, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Sally Flaschberger, Brookfield
- Marc Duff, Racine Racine Unified School District
- Paul Zajichek, Milwaukee
- Theresa Barnes, Milwaukee Clement Avenue School
- Lukas Barnes, Milwaukee Clement Avenue School
- Joanne Juhnke, Madison
- Anna Moffit, Madison
- Jenny Stonemeier, Milwaukee
- Jeff Spitzer-Resnick, Madison Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Jennifer Kammerud, Madison WI Dept of Public Instruction
- Michelle Schaefer, Wausau Wausau School District
- Donna Pahuski, Cambridge

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Nancy Donahue, Madison Walbridge School/WCRIS
- Jessie Rodriguez, Oak Creek
- Tammy Olivas, Oak Creek
- Alice O'Connor, Madison
- Dustin Baughan, Merrill
- Michael Lancaster, Madison WI Council on Religious & Independent Schools, Diocese of Madison
- Caroline Horn, Muskigo LUMIN
- Matt Kussow, Madison WCRIS

Registrations Against

- Renae Sheibley, Stevens Point
- Tammie Hefty, Mt Horeb Partners in Policymaking
- Laura Delagrange, Kenosha RUSD
- Jamie Syvrud, Union Grove RUSD
- Sabrina Gentile, Madison WI Council on Children & Families

- Cynthia Cuthbert, Sussex
- Deb Sybell WEAC
- Carol Lenz, Appleton
- Theresa McGraftan, Oregon
- Genie Ogden, Madison
- Patricia Fleming, Oregon
- Susan Fox, Monona
- Hugh Davis, Hartland
- Dan Weast, Delavan West Allis/West Milwaukee School District

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 15, 2012 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Sarah Archibald Committee Clerk