# Senate

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Labor, Public Safety, and Urban Affairs

#### Senate Bill 30

Relating to: placing limits on residency requirements for 1st class city police officers and fire fighters.

By Senators Vukmir, Wanggaard and Lazich; cosponsored by Representatives Kramer, Kuglitsch and Honadel.

March 07, 2011 Referred to Committee on Labor, Public Safety, and Urban Affairs.

# March 22, 2011 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (5) Senators Wanggaard, Grothman, Lazich, S.

Coggs and Wirch.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

## Appearances For

- Bill Kramer Representative
- Leah Vukmir Senator
- Van Wanggaard Senator
- Michael Crivello President, Milwaukee Police Association
- Mark Buetow Vice-President, Milwaukee Police Association
- David Seager President, Milwaukee Professional Firefighters Association
- Michael Edwards Milwaukee Police Supervisors Organization
- Timothy Latona, Milwaukee
- Christopher Kietzke, Milwaukee
- Andrea Kietzke, Milwaukee
- Seann Cleveland, Milwaukee
- Stephen Witkowski, Milwaukee
- John Belsha, Milwaukee Milwaukee Police Association

#### Appearances Against

- Tom Barrett, Milwaukee Mayor
- Mark Rollfing, Milwaukee Chief, Milwaukee Fire Department
- Joel Plant, Milwaukee Chief of Staff, Police Chief Edward Flynn

- Mike Tobin Director, Milwaukee Fire and Police Commission
- Kurt Leibold Milwaukee Police Department
- Joe Dudzik Alderman, 11th District, City of Milwaukee
- Ashanti Hamilton Alderman, 1st District, City of Milwaukee
- Michael Murphy Alderman, 10th District, City of Milwaukee
- Nik Kovac Alderman, 3rd District, City of Milwaukee
- Willie Wade Alderman, 7th District, City of Milwaukee
- Tim Carpenter Senator, 3rd District
- Dewayne Smoots, Milwaukee
- Chapman Alonzo, Milwaukee
- Herbert Zautke, Milwaukee
- Jettie Carr, Milwaukee Southside Organizing Committee
- Mark Weinstock, Milwaukee Southside Organizing Committee
- Steve Fendt, Milwaukee Southside Organizing Committee
- Charles L. Walton, Milwaukee
- Salvador de Leon, Milwaukee

# **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Michael Grzesiak, Milwaukee
- Steven Pokora, Milwaukee
- Andrew Hornik, Milwaukee
- David Aussprung, Milwaukee
- Mark Pegelow, Milwaukee
- John Cooley, Mequon MFD
- Joshua J. LaDue, Milwaukee Milwaukee Fire Department
- Scott Hall, Milwaukee
- Rick Michalak, Oak Creek MPD
- David Schultz, Milwaukee
- Kathleen O'Neill, Brookfield
- Jeff Hoffman, Milwaukee
- Brad Gudynowski, Milwaukee Milwaukee Fire Department
- Justin Owens, Milwaukee
- Jeffrey Wills, Milwaukee Milwaukee Fire Department
- Terry Curtis, Milwaukee Milwaukee Fire Department
- Jim Loucks, Milwaukee Milwaukee Fire Department -Local 215
- David Coffey, Milwaukee Milwaukee Fire Department -Local 215

- John Fabina, Milwaukee Milwaukee Fire Department -Local 215
- Dan Klug, Milwaukee
- David Rogowski, Milwaukee Milwaukee Fire Department
- Ralph L. Salyers, III, Waukesha Milwaukee Police Association
- William Schmitz, Milwaukee
- Brian Young, Milwaukee
- Matthew R. Bongel, Milwaukee Milwaukee Police Association
- Kyle Baus, Milwaukee
- Carmelo Patti, Milwaukee MPSO
- Nicholas Kerhin, Milwaukee MPSO
- James R. Krause, Milwaukee
- Craig Parello, Milwaukee
- Kevin P. Hart, Milwaukee
- James D. Belongia, Milwaukee
- James Merchant, Milwaukee
- Timothy A. Newman, Milwaukee
- William Savagian, Milwaukee
- Paul Huba, Milwaukee
- Michael Olinger, Milwaukee Milwaukee Fire Department -Local 215
- Charles Stamschror, Milwaukee Milwaukee Fire Department - Local 215
- Kevin Bolyard, Milwaukee
- Ramona Ruud, Milwaukee Milwaukee Police Department
- Jeff Desannoy, Milwaukee
- Nate Valley, Janesville
- Karen B. Bailey, Milwaukee Reverend, CYD

#### Registrations Against

- Lena Taylor Senator
- David Cullen Representative
- Leon Young Representative
- Matt Thomas, Waterloo
- Joe Ruditys, Milwaukee Firefighters 311
- Joe Conway, Madison MFD
- James Roberts, Fitchburg
- Mike Amato, Madison
- Maria Monteagudo, Milwaukee
- Curt Witynski, Madison League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Malcolm Kemp, Milwaukee

- James W. Nelson, Sr., Milwaukee
- Lynn Whitford, Madison
- Michael Miller, Milwaukee
- Charles Elftmann, Pleasant Prairie
- Lee Rass Shack, Milwaukee
- Darvin Moore, Milwaukee
- Roy De La Rosa Milwaukee County

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

# November 1, 2011 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Wanggaard, Grothman, Lazich, Wirch

and King.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

### February 28, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Wanggaard, Grothman, Lazich, Wirch

and King.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Wanggaard, seconded by Senator Lazich that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction and adoption.

Ayes: (3) Senators Wanggaard, Grothman and Lazich.

Noes: (2) Senators Wirch and King.

# INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Moved by Senator Wanggaard, seconded by Senator Lazich that **Senate Bill 30** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (2) Senators Wanggaard and Lazich.

Noes: (3) Senators Grothman, Wirch and King.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED, Ayes 2, Noes 3

Craig Summerfield Committee Clerk