Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary, Utilities, Commerce, and Government Operations

Senate Bill 230

Relating to: an exemption from the prevailing wage law for a public works project that is not less than 85 percent privately funded in which the completed facility is dedicated to the state or a local governmental unit for conservation, recreational, or educational purposes.

By Senators Schultz, Galloway, Cowles, Grothman and Kedzie; cosponsored by Representatives Marklein, Knodl, August, Bernier, Bies, Brooks, Craig, Jacque, Kapenga, Kestell, Klenke, Kooyenga, T. Larson, Mursau, Murtha, Nass, Nygren, A. Ott, Petrowski, Petryk, Ripp, Rivard, Severson, Spanbauer, Steineke, Strachota, Thiesfeldt, Tranel, Tiffany, Van Roy, Williams, Wynn, Zamarripa and Endsley.

October 12, 2011 Referred to Committee on Judiciary, Utilities, Commerce, and Government Operations.

December 20, 2011 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (5) Senators Zipperer and Kedzie; Resigned Galloway; Senators Risser and Erpenbach.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

• Howard Marklein — State Representative

Appearances Against

• Tom Gasperetti — Wisconsin Pipe Trades Association

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Bill Smith, Madison NFIB
- John Mielke ABC of Wisconsin
- Curt Witynski, Madison League of WI Municipalities

Registrations Against

- Jim Boullion, Madison AGC of Wis.
- Mark Reihl, Madison WI State Council of Carpenters
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Underground Contractors Assoc.

- Tim DeMinter Iron Workers #383
- Robb Kahl Construction Business Group
- Terry McGowan Operating Engineers Local 139
- Steven Johnson, Madison Laborers Local 464 Madison

Nicholas Heake — Laborers Local 464

Corey McGovern — Laborers 464

James Meicher — Laborers 464

Rod Meyer — Laborers Local 464

Daniel Burke — Laborer Local 464

Terry Nelson, Madison

John Schmidt — Wisconsin Laborers District Council

Joanne Ricea — Wisconsin State AFL-CIO

Registrations for Information Only

None.

March 15, 2012 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Lucas Vebber Committee Clerk