Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 20

Relating to: authorizing the City of Milwaukee to sell city-owned property used for school purposes.

By Senators Darling, Lazich, Carpenter and Grothman; cosponsored by Representatives Honadel, Fields, Pridemore, Berceau, Thiesfeldt, Strachota, Bies, Rivard and Marklein.

February 22, 2011 Referred to Committee on Education.

March 23, 2011 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Olsen, Vukmir, Grothman, Darling,

Jauch, Vinehout and C. Larson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Paul Vornholt, Milwaukee City of Milwaukee
- Elaine Miller, Milwaukee City of Milwaukee
- Dennis Conta, Milwaukee Milwaukee Charter School Advocates
- Heather Heaviland, Milwaukee IFF
- Henry Tyson, Milwaukee Milwaukee Parental Choice Program Schools' Assoc/St. Marcus Lutheran School
- Maureen Sullivan, Milwaukee Woodlands School
- Jamaar Meeks, Milwaukee
- Katy Reeder, Cross Plains

Appearances Against

- Mike Langyel, Waukesha MTEA
- Jill Gaskell, Blanchardville WI PTA
- Cheryl Brenner, Milwaukee
- Christine McDonough, Sun Prairie
- Chris Thiel, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools
- Lawrence Hoffman, Milwaukee Dr
- Justin Williamsen, Milwaukee
- Lorraine Jacobs, Milwaukee
- Dan Rossmiller, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards

• Perry Buck, Milwaukee

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Deborah Conta, Milwaukee Milwaukee Charter School Advocates
- Brian Pleva, Madison American Federation for Children
- Matt Kussow, Madison WCRIS
- Marcia Spector, Milwaukee Seeds of Health Inc.
- Nicola Ciurro, Milwaukee Wings Academy
- Chris Her-Xiong, Milwaukee Hmong American Peace Academy; International Peace Academy
- Barbara Horton, Milwaukee Darrell L. Hines Academy
- John Plantenberg, Milwaukee Urban Day School
- Judy Merryfield, Milwaukee Milwaukee Academy of Science
- David Bowen, Milwaukee Urban Underground
- Marquise Haynes, Milwaukee Urban Underground
- Colleen Gunther, Milwaukee
- Julie Lange, Milwaukee
- Katie Walby, Madison Greater Milwaukee Committee
- Steve Baas, Milwaukee MMAC
- Jose Ceroa, Milwaukee IFF

Registrations Against

- Sally Weidemann, Madison
- Laura Chesa, Madison
- Kristin Forde, Madison
- Susan Bohlman, Madison
- Deb Sybell WEAC
- Russell Phelps, Madison
- Patrick Mooney, Madison
- Edward Kuharski, Madison
- Marveen Phelps, Madison
- Stacy Conroy, Milwaukee
- Tom Grogg, Madison
- John Widdicombe, Mount Horeb
- Barb Muse, Sun Prairie
- Kim Ishikawa, Madison
- Jesse Lyne, Madison
- Carolyn Vren, Madison
- Katie Mardke-Hall, Milwaukee
- Pat DiBiase, Madison

- Kristin Krievbring, Milwaukee
- Pat Else, Milwaukee Milwaukee homeowners
- Lenore Lee, Milwaukee
- Linda BurkelFifrick, Madison
- Cheryl Eveland, Madison
- Ken Suckow, Watertown
- Rachel Luben, Watertown
- Donna Vukelich-Selva, Madison
- Sharyn Stupf, Middleton
- Diana Cohen, Madison
- Kati Walsh, Madison Milwaukee Students
- Angela Sprengelmeyer, Madison MTI
- Elizabeth Hardy, Madison UTF
- Angeline Koch, Milwaukee Maryland Ave. Montessori
- Nancy Ketchman, Milwaukee Maryland Ave. Montessori
- Betsy Hambrecht, Madison
- Jane Koenig, Madison
- Robert Weinswig, Mount Horeb
- Kate Mickle, Madison
- Timothy S. Riley, Stoughton
- Donna Nosek, Whitewater
- Lynn McKenzie, Cottage Grove
- Eileen Ilana Strauch, Monona
- Leslie Kebbekus, Monona
- Lisa Dussau, Madison
- Jenni Hofschultz, Milwaukee
- Karen Jaeger, Madison
- Abbie Kurtz, Madison
- Martin Zechman, Verona
- Rene Antrop Gonzalez, Milwaukee Dr,
- Joan Zechman, Verona
- Maria De Jesus Dixon, Milwaukee
- Laura Duneil, Madison
- Victoria Gutierrez, Madison
- Richard Levi, Janesville
- Allen Ruff, Madison
- Matthew Brusky, Milwaukee
- Mary Classen, Madison
- Dan Wiltrout, Madison
- Cece McCaigue, Madison
- Robert Kanter, Madison
- Louise Lattwell, Madison
- Jasmine Alinder, Milwaukee
- Genie Ogden, Madison

- Chris Loken, Madison
- Beth Wambold, Madison
- Tonya Rasmussen, Madison
- Eileen Curtis, Madison
- Karl Mazurak, Madison
- Amy W. Noble, Madison
- Fred Paasch, Madison
- Dawn Henslee, Madison

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

May 9, 2011 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Olsen, Vukmir, Grothman, Darling,

Jauch, Vinehout and C. Larson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Olsen, seconded by Senator Darling that **Senate Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (7) Senators Olsen, Vukmir, Grothman, Darling,

Jauch, Vinehout and C. Larson.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Olsen, seconded by Senator Darling that **Senate Amendment 1 to Senate Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (7) Senators Olsen, Vukmir, Grothman, Darling,

Jauch, Vinehout and C. Larson.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 1 TO SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Darling, seconded by Senator Grothman that **Senate Amendment 1 to Senate Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Senators Olsen, Vukmir, Grothman, Darling, Jauch, Vinehout and C. Larson.

Noes: (0) None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 1 TO SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Olsen, seconded by Senator C. Larson that **Senate Amendment 2 to Senate Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (7) Senators Olsen, Vukmir, Grothman, Darling, Jauch, Vinehout and C. Larson.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 2 TO SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator C. Larson, seconded by Senator Jauch that **Senate Amendment 2 to Senate Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Senators Jauch, Vinehout and C. Larson.Noes: (4) Senators Olsen, Vukmir, Grothman and Darling.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 2 TO SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 4

Moved by Senator Grothman, seconded by Senator Darling that **Senate Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Senators Olsen, Vukmir, Grothman, Darling, Jauch and Vinehout.

Noes: (1) Senator C. Larson.

ADOPTION OF SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 1

Moved by Senator Grothman, seconded by Senator Darling that **Senate Bill 20** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (5) Senators Olsen, Vukmir, Grothman, Darling and Jauch.

Noes: (2) Senators Vinehout and C. Larson.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 2

Sarah Archibald Committee Clerk