Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on State and Federal Relations and Information Technology

January 2011 Special Session Senate Bill 13

Relating to: regulation of telecommunications utilities and alternative telecommunications utilities; telecommunications provider of last-resort obligations; telecommunications intrastate switched access rates; interconnected voice over Internet protocol service; and use of transmission equipment and property by video service providers.

By Committee on Senate Organization, by request of Governor Scott Walker, Senator Zipperer and Representative Honadel.

April 28, 2011 Referred to Committee on State and Federal Relations and Information Technology.

May 4, 2011 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Harsdorf, Lasee, Zipperer, Hansen

and T. Cullen.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Scott Vander Sanden, Oregon AT&T
- Bill Esbeck, Madison WSTA
- Drew Petersen, Madison TDS Telecom
- Tom Moore, Madison WI Cable Communications Association
- Tom Still, Madison Wisconsin Technology Council
- John Klatt, Milltown Lakeland Communications
- John Klarer, Mount Horeb Mount Horeb Telephone Company
- Ray Riordat, Monona Northeast Communications
- Rhonda Lutzke, Sun Prairie Frontier Communication

Appearances Against

- Kira Loehr, Madison Citizens Utility Board
- Rob Boelk CWA 4622
- Glen Richards, Washington DC Voice on the Net Coalition
- George Wells, Cedarburg CWA 4603

- Frank Mathews, N. Barrington Communications Workers of America 60010
- Chet Gerlach, Madison Sprint Communications
- Patrick Fucik, Madison Sprint Communications
- Deborah Kuhn, Chicago Verizon
- Don Price, Austin Verizon
- Mike McDermott, Schaumburg Verizon

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Thad Nation, Milwaukee Wired Wisconsin
- Brian Dake, Madison Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- George Kaetsch, Madison WI Coalition for Consumer Choice
- Bob Welch, Madison Nsight
- Katy Venslus, Milwaukee MMAC
- Lorenzo Cruz, Madison CenturyLink
- Elaine Wolters, Brookfield
- George Klaetsch, Madison WI Coalition for Consumer Choice
- Bill Schumach, Rubicon
- Kent Disch, Madison AT&T
- Brad Bliss, Cottage Grove AT&T
- Tom Taibl, Pewaukee AT&T
- Raymond Firth, New Berlin AAT&T
- L F Fisher, Chapin AT&T
- Dextra Hadnot, Milwaukee AT&T
- Andrew Bellmore, Green Bay AT&T
- Robert Roy, Milton AT&T
- Jim Jermain, Fitchburg AT&T
- Eric Towell, Mukwonago AT&T
- Hope Karth, Appleton AT&T
- Lisa Schulte, Hartland AT&T
- Tricia Conway, Racine AT&T
- Michael Martz, Menomonee Falls AT&T
- Julie Tonkovitz, Waukesha AT&T
- Charlotte Toth, Mayville AT&T
- Fred Sweda, Milwaukee AT&T
- Tricia Mazza, Beloit AT&T
- Andrew Bartell, Kimberly AT&T
- Jim Matousek, Fox Point AT&T
- Robyn Gruner, Hortonville AT&T

- Andrea Schumacher, Rubicon AT&T
- Jim Zierk, Brookfield AT&T
- Larry DeFord, Oak Creek

Registrations Against

- Ann McNeary, Sun Prairie Communications Workers of America Wisconsin Political Council
- Joanne Ricca, Milwaukee WI State AFL-CIO
- Terry Russell, Cottage Grove CWA Local 4630
- Jolene Plantz, Madison WI Towns Association

Registrations for Information Only

- Jeff Vercauteren, Madison Wisconsin CALLS
- Tom Giovanetti, Lewisville Institute for Policy Innovation

May 10, 2011 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Harsdorf, Lasee, Zipperer, Hansen and T. Cullen.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Lasee, seconded by Senator Zipperer that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction and adoption.

Ayes: (4) Senators Harsdorf, Lasee, Zipperer and Hansen

Noes: (1) Senator T. Cullen.

INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Moved by Senator Hansen that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (5) Senators Harsdorf, Lasee, Zipperer, Hansen

and T. Cullen.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 2 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Zipperer, seconded by Senator Lasee that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for rejection.

Ayes: (4) Senators Harsdorf, Lasee, Zipperer and T. Cullen.

Noes: (1) Senator Hansen.

REJECTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 2 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Moved by Senator Hansen that **Senate Amendment 3** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (5) Senators Harsdorf, Lasee, Zipperer, Hansen and T. Cullen.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 3 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Zipperer, seconded by Senator Lasee that **Senate Amendment 3** be recommended for rejection.

Ayes: (4) Senators Harsdorf, Lasee, Zipperer and T. Cullen.

Noes: (1) Senator Hansen.

REJECTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 3 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Moved by Senator Hansen that **Senate Amendment 4** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (5) Senators Harsdorf, Lasee, Zipperer, Hansen and T. Cullen.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 4 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Zipperer, seconded by Senator Lasee that **Senate Amendment 4** be recommended for rejection.

Ayes: (3) Senators Harsdorf, Lasee and Zipperer.

Noes: (2) Senators Hansen and T. Cullen.

REJECTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 4 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Moved by Senator Zipperer, seconded by Senator Lasee that **January 2011 Special Session Senate Bill 13** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (5) Senators Harsdorf, Lasee, Zipperer, Hansen and T. Cullen.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

W. Scott Nelson Committee Clerk