Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

January 2011 Special Session Assembly Bill 14

Relating to: regulation of telecommunications utilities and alternative telecommunications utilities; telecommunications provider of last-resort obligations; telecommunications intrastate switched access rates; interconnected voice over Internet protocol service; and use of transmission equipment and property by video service providers.

By Committee on Assembly Organization, by request of Governor Scott Walker, Representative Honadel, and Senator Zipperer.

April 27, 2011 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities.

May 3, 2011 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen, Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson, Weininger, Zepnick, Steinbrink, Staskunas and Hulsey.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Bill Esbeck, Madison WI State Telecommunications Association (WSTA)
- Scott Vander Sanden, Oregon AT&T
- Tom Moore, Madison WI Cable Communications Assoc
- Drew Petersen, Madison TDS Telecom
- Marvin Walker, Madison WI Coalition for Consumer Choice
- Jim Costello, Camp Douglas Lemonweir Valley Telecom
- Brad Welp, Blue River Richland Grant Cooperative and LaValle Telephone Cooperative
- Rhonda Lutzke, Sun Prairie Frontier Communications
- Ray Riordan, Monona Northeast Communication
- Hance Haney, Seattle Discovery Institute
- Tom Still Wisconsin Technology Council
- Steve Baas MMAC
- Matthew Glissendorf, Janesville AT&T
- Kent Disch, Madison AT&T
- Robert Page, Allouez AT&T
- David Chorzempa, Riverside AT&T

Appearances Against

- Rob Belk, Mayville Communication Workers of America (CWA) 4622
- Glenn Richards, Washington Voice on the Net Coalition
- Chet Gerlach, Madison Sprint Communications
- Patrick Fucik, Madison Sprint Communications
- Mike McDermott, Schaumburg Verizon Wireless
- Don Price, Austin Verizon
- Mark Frey, Sauk City CWA Local 4630
- John Hendrick, Madison Coalition of WI Aging Groups
- Kira Loehr, Madison Citizens Utility Board
- Frank Matthews, North Barrington CWA

Appearances for Information Only

• Jeffery Vercanteren, Madison — Wisconsin CALLS

Registrations For

- Tom Fonfara, Madison T-Mobile
- Darrell DeRidder, Appleton AT&T
- Lorenzo Cruz, Madison CenturyLink
- Julie Tonkovitz, Waukesha AT&T
- Theresa Slein, Middleton AT&T
- Tom Taibl, Pewaukee AT&T
- Michael Martz, Menomonee Falls AT&T
- John Schneider, Hartland AT&T
- Ryan Block, Menomonee Falls AT&T
- Mary Sommers, Glendale AT&T
- Jeannette Onge, Oak Creek AT&T
- Brad Bliss, Cottage Grove AT&T
- Tom Bergen, Sheboygan AT&T
- Rodney Duke, Janesville AT&T
- Dextra Hadnot, Milwaukee AT&T
- Robyn Gruner, Hortonville AT&T
- Jason Matyas, Hartland AT&T
- Randy Udell, Fitchburg AT&T
- Phillip Lehman, De Pere AT&T
- Jim Jermain, Fitchburg AT&T
- Tricia Conway, Racine AT&T
- Cheryl Ninneman, South Milwaukee AT&T
- Thad Nation, Milwaukee Wired WI
- Bob Welch Nsight
- Brian Dake, Madison Wisconsin Independent Business

Registrations Against

- Terry Russell, Cottage Grove CWA
- Joanne Ricca, Milwaukee WI State AFL-CIO
- Helen Marks Dicks, Madison AARP
- Ann Jablonski, Madison WI Towns Association

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

May 5, 2011 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen, Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson, Weininger, Zepnick, Steinbrink, Staskunas and Hulsey.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Staskunas, seconded by Representative Zepnick that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Zepnick, Steinbrink, Staskunas and Hulsey.

Noes: (7) Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen, Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson and Weininger.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Hulsey, seconded by Representative Staskunas that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Zepnick, Steinbrink, Staskunas and Hulsey.

Noes: (7) Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen, Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson and Weininger.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Zepnick, seconded by Representative Staskunas that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Zepnick, Steinbrink, Staskunas and Hulsey.

Noes: (7) Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen, Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson and Weininger.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Hulsey, seconded by Representative Zepnick that **Assembly Amendment 4** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Zepnick, Steinbrink, Staskunas and Hulsey.

Noes: (7) Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen, Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson and Weininger.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 4 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Zepnick, seconded by Representative Staskunas that **Assembly Amendment 5** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Zepnick, Steinbrink, Staskunas and Hulsey.

Noes: (7) Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen, Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson and Weininger.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 5 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Zepnick, seconded by Representative Hulsey that **Assembly Amendment 6** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Zepnick, Steinbrink, Staskunas and Hulsey.

Noes: (7) Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen, Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson and Weininger.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 6 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Klenke, seconded by Representative Severson that **January 2011 Special Session Assembly Bill 14** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (6) Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson and Weininger.

Noes: (5) Representatives Petersen, Zepnick, Steinbrink, Staskunas and Hulsey.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 5

Jason Vick Committee Clerk