Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Economic Development and Veterans and Military Affairs

Scocos, John, of Fitchburg, as Secretary of the Department of Veterans Affairs, to serve for the term ending at the pleasure of the Governor.

September 01, 2011 Referred to Committee on Economic Development and Veterans and Military Affairs.

September 14, 2011 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(6)	Senators Leibham, Darling, Wanggaard,
		Galloway, Lassa and Taylor.
Absent:	(1)	Senator T. Cullen.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- John Scocos, Fitchburg
- Larry Kutschma, Lake Geneva Commander, VFW
- Dave Ross, Madison
- Denise Rohan, Verona American Legion of Wisconsin
- Jim Endres, Milwaukee AMVETS
- Chuck Taylor, Redgranite
- John Townsend, Fond du Lac
- Chad Koplien, Waunakee
- Ray Boland, Sparta
- Chuck Roloff, Milwaukee
- Bill Kloster, Platteville
- Stefanos Krallis, Mononoa
- Raymond Perez, Reedsburg Mission Welcome Home
- Glen Brower, South Milwaukee
- Tim Thiers, Manitowoc AMVETS
- Joseph Bauer, Reedsburg
- Elizabeth Benn, Sun Prairie
- Tony Tyczynski, Baraboo Sauk County Veterans
- Dave Zien, Eau Claire
- Nicholas Picago, Greendale
- Judy Anderson, Cross Plains AT&T Pioneers
- Vera Roddy, Milwaukee
- Philip Stalewski, Cudahy

- James Critchfield, Elroy
- Duane Miskulin, Stevens Point
- Michael Lind, Portage
- Daryl Phipps, Oak Creek
- Thomas Tradewell, Sussex VFW

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Eric Esser Appointments Director, Office of Governor Scott Walker
- Frank Lasee Senator, 1st Senate District
- Dick Spanbauer Representative, 53rd Assembly District
- Al Ott Representative, 3rd Assembly District
- Christine Sinicki Representative, 20th Assembly District
- Georgia Maxwell Executive Assistant, Department of Workforce Development
- Kathleen Marschman, Sun Prairie
- Robert Piaro, Fredonia VAF
- John Murray, Sun Prairie
- Bill Richardson, Middleton
- John Jung, Mukwonago
- George Klaetsch, Madison
- Sandra Nowack, Madison
- David Rueth, Madison
- JoAnn Tranchita, De Forest
- Leo Endres, Madison American Legion
- Valar Rogers, Marshall
- Caleb Rogers, Marshall American Legion
- Roger Dorman, Poynette
- Chad Zuleger, Marshall
- Kendel Feilen, Port Washington American Legion
- Jason Johns, Madison
- William Hustad, Monticello MOPH
- James Stelton, De Forest
- Mike Flaherty, McFarland
- Richard Lindbeck, West Bend Vietnam Veterans of America
- William Wendle, Madison
- Donald Pfaff, Verona
- Benedict DiSalvo, Waunakee

- Jim Leonhart, Madison Celebrate Children Foundation
- Dan Schmutz, Fitchburg
- Brad Hub, Dodgeville
- Michael "Gunner" Furgal, Monroe VFW
- Denise Aviles, Madison
- Yolanda McGowan, Glendale
- Nancy Mistele, Waunakee
- Peter Jozefowski, Beaver Dam AMVETS
- Larry Shallue, Manitowoc DAV
- Scott Campbell, Middleton
- Domingo Leguizamon, Milwaukee
- John O'Brien, Richland Center
- Bonnie Smith, Manitowoc DAV

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

September 20, 2011 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present:	(7)	Senators Leibham, Darling, Wanggaard,
		Galloway, Lassa, Taylor and Shilling.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Senator Wanggaard, seconded by Senator Galloway that **Scocos, John** be recommended for confirmation.

- Ayes: (5) Senators Leibham, Darling, Wanggaard, Galloway and Taylor.
- Noes: (2) Senators Lassa and Shilling.

CONFIRMATION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 2

Lucas Moench Committee Clerk