## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Judiciary and Ethics**

#### **Assembly Joint Resolution 49**

Relating to: election of chief justice (first consideration).

By Representatives August, Krug, Kramer, Bies, Brooks, Craig, Farrow, Jacque, Kestell, Knilans, Knudson, A. Ott, Petersen, Pridemore, Spanbauer, Strachota, Wynn and Marklein; cosponsored by Senators Zipperer, Vukmir, Kedzie, Galloway, Lasee, Olsen and Wanggaard.

July 20, 2011 Referred to Committee on Judiciary and Ethics.

December 15, 2011 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(7)	Representatives J. Ott, T. Larson, Kerkman, Craig, Hebl, Staskunas and D. Cullen.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Jacque.
Excused:	(0)	None.

#### Appearances For

• Rep. August bill's author

### Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

**Registrations For** 

• None.

**Registrations Against** 

- Laura Chern
- Sen. Lena Taylor

### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

#### February 2, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(8)	Representatives J. Ott, T. Larson, Kerkman,
		Jacque, Craig, Hebl, Staskunas and D. Cullen.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative T. Larson that **Assembly Joint Resolution 49** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (5) Representatives J. Ott, T. Larson, Kerkman, Jacque and Craig.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Hebl, Staskunas and D. Cullen.

ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Virginia Mueller Committee Clerk