Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary and Ethics

Assembly Joint Resolution 26

Relating to: deleting from the constitution the offices of secretary of state and state treasurer (first consideration).

By Representatives Krug, Jacque, August, Bies, Brooks, Endsley, Honadel, Jorgensen, Kerkman, Kestell, Kooyenga, LeMahieu, Meyer, Mursau, Nygren, J. Ott, Petryk, Rivard, Steineke and Strachota; cosponsored by Senators Leibham, Olsen and Wanggaard.

April 12, 2011 Referred to Committee on Judiciary and Ethics.

August 18, 2011 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (8) Representatives J. Ott, T. Larson, Kerkman, Jacque, Craig, Hebl, Staskunas and D. Cullen.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Scott Klug bill's author
- Kurt Schuller State Treasuer
- Dianne Carey, Rockchester Self

Appearances Against

- Doug LaFollette Secretary of State
- David Asman
- Will Williams self
- Mike Dickman
- Bryan Bliss self
- Jim Mueller self
- Steve Brooks self

Appearances for Information Only

• Rev. David Steffenson — Upstream Institute for Ecological Ethics

Registrations For

• None.

Registrations Against

• Roger Sage

• Laura Cheron

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

September 29, 2011 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present: (8) Representatives J. Ott, T. Larson, Kerkman,

Jacque, Craig, Hebl, Staskunas and D. Cullen.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative T. Larson that **Assembly Joint Resolution 26** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Representatives J. Ott, T. Larson, Kerkman, Jacque, Craig and D. Cullen.

Noes: (2) Representatives Hebl and Staskunas.

ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 2

Virginia Mueller Committee Clerk