Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources

Assembly Bill 99

Relating to: prohibiting the Department of Natural Resources from establishing certain restrictions on hunting antlered deer and regulating the establishment of fall open seasons for hunting deer with firearms.

By Representatives Tiffany, Mursau, Bernier, Endsley, Jacque, Kerkman, Kestell, Kleefisch, Krug, T. Larson, Litjens, Nygren, J. Ott, Petryk, Pridemore, Rivard, Severson, Spanbauer and Steineke; cosponsored by Senators Moulton, Kedzie, Cowles, S. Fitzgerald, Galloway, Harsdorf, Lasee, Hopper, Olsen, Grothman and Kapanke.

April 22, 2011 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources.

April 27, 2011 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(15)	Representatives Mursau, Rivard, Williams, Kleefisch, Nerison, J. Ott, Severson, Steineke, Tiffany, Mason, Molepske Jr, Danou, Clark,
		Milroy and Hulsey.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Tom Tiffany, Madison Representative, 35th Assembly District
- Jeff Geitner, Arlington
- Scott Meyer, Gleason Hunters Rights Coalition
- Bob Welch, Madison Hunter Rights Coalition
- Ron Kulas, Delafield Wisconsin Bowhunters Association
- Greg Kazmierski, Pewaukee SCI Chapters Wisconsin

Appearances Against

- Ralph Fritsch, Townsend Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- George Meyer, Madison Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Don Hammes, Middleton Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Larry Vanderhoof, Plainfield Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Jane Severt, Tomahawk Wisconsin County Forests Association
- Eugene Roark, Madison Wisconsin Woodland Owners Association

- Loren Hanson, Janesville Wisconsin Woodland Owners Association
- William Buckley, Poynette Wisconsin Consulting Foresters
- Alex Rahmlow, Madison Society of American Foresters Wisconsin Chapter
- Don Waller, Madison
- Doris Rausch, Fort Atkinson Association of Retired Conservationists
- Jamie Nack, Fall River The Wildlife Society Wisconsin Chapter
- Michael Arrowood, Oakfield
- Rod Anding, Arena

Appearances for Information Only

- Tom Hauge, Madison Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
- Jeff Pritzl, Madison Department of Natural Resources
- Paul DeLong, Madison Chief State Forester, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
- Ed Harvey, Madison Wisconsin Conservation Congress

Registrations For

- Ron Kuehn, Madison Wisconsin Bow Hunters Association
- Jeff Perlewitz, Waukesha Wisconsin Bowhunters Association
- Joseph Koback, Montello Safari Club International

Registrations Against

- Richard Wedpohl, Madison
- Gunnar Bergersen, Madison Lake States Lumber Association
- Tim Van Dorleau, Waunakee
- Jennifer Giegerich, Madison Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Jack Demby, Arena
- Betty Borchert, Oshkosh Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Patricia Huckman, Randolph Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- George Borchert, Oshkosh Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Marilyn Knuth, Plover
- Chuck Matyska, Cecil Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Jerry Knuth, Plover
- Richard Wedepohl, Madison
- Robert Haase, Eldorado
- Katie Frerker, Madison
- Paul Swenson, Arena

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

June 21, 2011 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(15)	Representatives Mursau, Rivard, Williams,
		Kleefisch, Nerison, Severson, Steineke,
		Tiffany, Stroebel, Litjens, Mason, Danou,
		Clark, Milroy and Hulsey.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Molepske Jr.

Moved by Representative Mursau, seconded by Representative Rivard that **Assembly Bill 99** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(10)	Representatives Mursau, Rivard, Williams,
		Kleefisch, Nerison, Severson, Steineke,
		Tiffany, Stroebel, Litjens.
Noes:	(5)	Representatives Mason, Danou, Clark,
		Milroy and Hulsey.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Molepske Jr.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Tim Gary Committee Clerk