# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Education**

#### **Assembly Bill 92**

Relating to: eliminating the enrollment cap for the Milwaukee Parental Choice Program and extending the program to permit private schools located in Milwaukee County to participate.

By Representatives Honadel and Kapenga.

April 12, 2011 Referred to Committee on Education.
--

## April 19, 2011 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(11)	Representatives Kestell, Marklein, Nass,
		Pridemore, Knudson, Thiesfeldt, Wynn, Pope-
		Roberts, Sinicki, Hintz and Clark.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

#### Appearances For

- Mark Honadel, S. Milwaukee Representative, 21st Assembly District
- Susan Mitchell, Milwaukee School Choice Wisconsin
- Andrew Neumann, Nashotah HOPE Christian Schools
- Chuck Moore, Milwaukee Eastbrook Academy
- Richard Laabs, Milwaukee Lutheran Urban Mission Initiative
- Terry Brown, Wauwatosa St. Anthony School
- Zeus Rodriguez, Milwaukee Hispanics for School Choice
- Brian Pleva, Madison American Federation for Children
- Mark Buetow, Milwaukee Milwaukee Police Association
- David Seager, Milwaukee Milwaukee Professional Firefighters Association
- Kim Wadas, Madison WI Catholic Conference

#### Appearances Against

- Kim Schmidt, Milwaukee
- Nik Kovac, Milwaukee Alderman, City of Milwaukee
- Jennifer Krutina, Milwaukee
- Bonnie Brusky, Milwaukee
- Tina Owen, Milwaukee
- Jennifer Morales, Milwaukee

- Sean Lennon, Milwaukee
- Stephanie Schneider, Milwaukee
- Perry Buck, Milwaukee
- Joan Schmidt, Milwaukee
- Renee Glembin, Milwaukee
- Jessica Foster, Milwaukee
- Rachel Schlueter, Milwaukee
- David Konyn, Milwaukee
- Holt Andrus, Milwaukee
- Kim Schroeder, Milwaukee
- Bob Peterson, Milwaukee
- Jennifer Mandel, Milwaukee
- Suzanne Green, Milwaukee
- Todd Price, Kenosha
- Jodi Warn, Milwaukee
- Lisa Ahner, Milwaukee
- Katherine Rudig, Milwaukee
- Chris Thiel, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## Registrations For

- Amy Lewis, Madison WI Family Action
- Matt Kussow, Madison Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools
- Steve Baas, Milwaukee Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce

## Registrations Against

- Barbara Toles, Milwaukee Rep., 17th Assembly District
- John Forester, Madison School Administrators Alliance
- Kari George, Milwaukee
- Scott Polebitski, Milwaukee
- Amber Glembin, Milwaukee
- Frank Kinateder, Waukesha
- David Mandehr, Madison
- Dian Phelan, Madison
- Larry Godding, Madison
- Jennifer Gonda, Milwaukee City of Milwaukee
- Larry Dooley, Madison
- Mike Langyel, Milwaukee
- Deb Sybell, Madison Wisconsin Education Association Council
- Grimme Grimme, Milwaukee

- Jennifer Kammerud, Madison Deptartment of Public Instruction
- Joanne Ricca, Milwaukee AFL-CIO
- Joe Quick, Madison WI Association of School Boards
- Amy Tatarsky, Madison
- Lisa Pugh, Madison Disability Rights WI

**Registrations for Information Only** 

• None.

#### April 26, 2011 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present:	(11)	Representatives Kestell, Marklein, Nass,
		Pridemore, Knudson, Thiesfeldt, Wynn, Pope-
		Roberts, Sinicki, Hintz and Clark.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Clark, seconded by Representative Pope-Roberts that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(4)	Representatives Pope-Roberts, Sinicki, Hintz
		and Clark.

Noes: (7) Representatives Kestell, Marklein, Nass, Pridemore, Knudson, Thiesfeldt and Wynn.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Pope-Roberts, seconded by Representative Sinicki that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (4) Representatives Pope-Roberts, Sinicki, Hintz and Clark.
- Noes: (7) Representatives Kestell, Marklein, Nass, Pridemore, Knudson, Thiesfeldt and Wynn.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Nass, seconded by Representative Knudson that **Assembly Bill 92** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (7) Representatives Kestell, Marklein, Nass, Pridemore, Knudson, Thiesfeldt and Wynn.
- Noes: (4) Representatives Pope-Roberts, Sinicki, Hintz and Clark.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 4

Chris Kulow Committee Clerk