Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 81

Relating to: special identification cards issued by the Department of Transportation providing parking privileges for persons with physical disabilities and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Krusick, Petrowski, Farrow, Bewley, Brooks, Hulsey, Kaufert, Kestell, Knilans, Kooyenga, Krug, Milroy, Molepske Jr, A. Ott, Pasch, Petryk, Rivard, Sinicki, Spanbauer, Steinbrink, Strachota, Thiesfeldt, Zepnick and Loudenbeck; cosponsored by Senators Hansen, Cowles, S. Coggs, C. Larson, Lassa and Olsen, by request of IndependenceFirst, Disability Rights Wisconsin, Survival Coalition of Wisconsin Disability Organizations, Wisconsin Coalition of Independent Living Centers, Sauk County Disabled Parking Enforcement Council, City of Madison Parking Council for People with Disabilities,

Wisconsin Council on Physical Disabilities, Access to Independence, and the Arc-Wisconsin Disability Association.

April 07, 2011 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

May 24, 2011 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (15) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley, Knilans, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and Hulsey.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Peggy Krusick Rep.
- Margaret Doyle, Milwaukee
- Toby Tyler, Brookfield
- Stevon Pribbenow, Baraboo Sauk Co. Disabled Parking
- Diana Sullivan, Milwaukee
- Roxan Perez, Brookfield
- William Tangney, Madison Parking Council for People with Disablities
- Richard Plouffe, Lake Delton Sauk Co. Disabled Parking Enforcement Council

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Ryan Zukowski, Madison WI Troopers Association
- Nick Zavos, Madison City of Madison
- Fayth Rail, Madison City of Madison Disabled Parking Council

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

June 2, 2011 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott,

Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley, Knilans, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and Hulsey.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative A. Ott, seconded by Representative Vruwink that **Assembly Amendment** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley, Knilans, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and Hulsey.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative A. Ott, seconded by Representative Vruwink that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley, Knilans, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and Hulsey. Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Vruwink, seconded by Representative Van Roy that **Assembly Bill 81** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley, Knilans, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and Hulsey.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Tim Fiocchi Committee Clerk