Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Financial Institutions

Assembly Bill 582

Relating to: regulation of rental-purchase agreements and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Petryk, Bernier, Litjens, Stone and Suder; cosponsored by Senator Moulton.

February 17, 2012	Referred to Committee on Financial Institution	ns.
-------------------	--	-----

February 28, 2012 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(12)	Representatives Kramer, Kooyenga, Kaufert,
		Kerkman, Marklein, Tranel, Craig, Stroebel,
		Zepnick, Young, Hintz and Richards.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Fields.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Chris Danou, Madison Representatie, Wisconsin State Assembly
- Warren Petryk, Madison Representative, Wisconsin State Assembly
- Terry Moulton, Madison Senator, Wisconsin State Senate
- Mike Wittenwyler, Madison Wisconsin Rental Dealers Association
- Victoria Lebakken, Eau Claire Lebakkens, Inc.
- Jeff Lebakken, Eau Claire Lebakkens, Inc.
- Michael Bennett Aaron's Inc.
- Scott Harvey Aaron's Inc.
- Christopher Tatro, Naperville Rental Express, Inc.
- Ron Koller ColorTyme
- Ron Wanek, Arcadia Ashley Furniture

Appearances Against

- Peter Konedzay, Milwaukee Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee
- Bob Anderson, Madison Legal Action of Wisconsin
- Barbara Sella, Madison Wisconsin Catholic Conference

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Tony Driessen, Madison — Wisconsin Rental Dealers Association

Registrations Against

• Brynne McBride, Madison — State Bar of Wisconsin

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 28, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(9)	Representatives Kramer, Kerkman, Marklein,
		Tranel, Craig, Zepnick, Young, Hintz and
		Richards.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(4)	Representatives Kooyenga, Kaufert, Stroebel and Fields.

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Tranel that **Assembly Bill 582** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (5) Representatives Kramer, Kerkman, Marklein, Tranel and Craig.
- Noes: (4) Representatives Zepnick, Young, Hintz and Richards.
- Absent: (4) Representatives Kooyenga, Kaufert, Stroebel and Fields.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 4

Cameron Sholty Committee Clerk