## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Tourism, Recreation and State Properties**

## **Assembly Bill 563**

Relating to: changes to the local room tax and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Bies, August, Ballweg, Brooks, Clark, A. Ott, Petersen, Tranel, Van Roy, Vos, Wynn and Tiffany; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Holperin and Schultz.

February 14, 2012 Referred to Committee on Tourism, Recreation and State Properties.

## February 22, 2012 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Kaufert, Loudenbeck, Bies, Meyer, Bernier, Klenke, Tiffany, Steineke, Zepnick, Doyle, Hulsey and Hebl.

Absent: (2) Representatives Clark and Steinbrink.

Excused: (0) None.

## Appearances For

- Garey Bies Rep., 1st Assembly District
- Trisha Pugal, Brookfield Wisconsin Hotel & Lodging Assoc.
- Connie Barbian, Fort Atkinson IDM Group
- Lynn Peters, Appleton Fox Cities Convention & Visitors Bureau
- Julie Hertel, Sun Prairie Wisconsin Association of Convention & Visitors Bureaus
- Ed Lump, Madison Wisconsin Restaurant Assoc.
- Bob Dove, Neenah Bridgewood Resort & Conference Center
- Dick Skare Town of Gibraltar
- Bryan Nelson Door County Tourism Zone Commission
- Greg Stillman, Fish Creek Parkwood Lodge
- Fred Anderson, Sister Bay Ashbrooke Door County Inc.
- David Lindelow, Walworth The Abbey Resort
- Cary Kerger, Fontana The Abbey Resort
- Kevin Gallagher, Milwaukee Marcus Hotels & Resorts
- Kathi Kilgore Wisconsin Hotel & Lodging Association

#### **Appearances Against**

• Dennis Jordan, Lake Geneva — Mayor, City of Lake Geneva

- Kevin Lahner, Burlington Mayor, City of Burlington
- Gaylene Rhoden Town of Rib Mountain
- Amy Wilson, Sheboygan Sheboygan Tourism
- George Twohig, Sheboygan Sheboygan Tourism
- Chad Pelishek, Sheboygan City of Sheboygan
- Stephen McLean, Sheboygan City of Sheboygan
- Louis Molepske Rep., 71st Assembly District
- Larry MacDonald, Bayfield Mayor, City of Bayfield
- Daniel Ertl, Brookfield City of Brookfield
- Steven Ponto, Brookfield Mayor, City of Brookfield
- Rick Czopp, Brookfield Town of Brookfield Town Administrator
- Keith Henderson Town of Brookfield, Town Chairman
- Mary Motiff, Washburn Bayfield County Tourism & Recreation Dept.
- Nicholas Zavos, Madison City of Madison
- Curt Witynski, Madison League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Danielle Maxwell-Parker, Turtle Lake Village of Turtle Lake

### Appearances for Information Only

• Robert Kufrin, Sister Bay — Door County Tourism Zone Commission

#### **Registrations For**

- Luther Olsen Senator, 14th Senate District
- Jim Holperin Senator, 12th Senate District
- Mike & Gayle Hohner, Burlington Burlington Chamber & Hillcrest Inn Bed & Breakfast
- Kris Ullmer, Merrill Wisconsin Bed & Breakfast Assoc.
- Jeffrey Machut, Monona
- Chet Gerlach, Madison Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions
- Roberta Eichelberg, Madison Best Western Inntowner & Highland Club
- Patricia Chang, Madison Bestwestern Inntowner & the Highland Club
- Christine Rebout, Janesville Janesville Area Convention & Visitors Bureau
- Matthew Kealy, Janesville Kealy's Kafe & Matt's Dog House
- James Belmont, Madison Bestwestern InnTowner & the Highland Club
- Jason Salus, Madison Hatchery Hill Hotels

- Gailden Moore, Madison Bestwester InnTowner & the Highland Club
- Dave Black Real Racine Visitors Center
- Randee Talmar, Madison Bestwestern West Towne Suites
- Laura Gronna, Madison The Campus Inn
- Bill Wellman, Madison The Campus Inn
- Michael Serpe Door County

### Registrations Against

- Nancy Justman, Brookfield Brookfield Convention & Visitors Bureau
- James Amodeo, Sheboygan City of Sheboygan

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 15, 2012 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Adam Field Committee Clerk