# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Housing**

## **Assembly Bill 562**

Relating to: limiting the authority of a city, village, or town to enact a development moratorium ordinance.

By Representatives Steineke, Jacque, LeMahieu and Stroebel.

February 13, 2012 Referred to Committee on Housing.

February 15, 2012 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (7) Representatives Murtha, Litjens, Farrow,

Rivard, Steineke, Young and Bewley.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative E. Coggs.

# Appearances For

- Tom Larson, Madison NAIOP-WI
- Jim Stineke Representative, 5th Assembly District
- Tom Larson, Madison Wisconsin Relators Association

## **Appearances Against**

 Curt Witynstei, Madison — League Of Wisconsin Municipalities

#### Appearances for Information Only

• Kara Slaughter, Madison — Wisconsin Farmers Union

### Registrations For

• Brad Boycks, Madison — Wisconsin Builders Association

#### Registrations Against

- Jim VanDeBogart, Beloit City of Beloit
- Mark Dahlberg, Grantsburg Village of Grantsburg
- Larry Arft, Beloit City of Beloit
- Kevin Beunner, Whitewater City of Whitewater
- Paul Fisk, Lodi City of Lodi
- Sandy Decker, Evansville City of Evanville
- Thomas Ratelaff, Park falls Mayor, City of Park Falls
- John Small, Marathon Marathon City
- Barbara Daus, Platteville platteville City Council

- Bev Anderson, Darlington Wisconsin League of Minicipalities
- john Sonsalla, Darlington Wisconsin League of Municipalities
- David Breunig, Darlington City of Darlington
- Eileen Nickles, Platteville
- Michael Pollocoff, Pleasant Prairie Village of Pleasant Prairie
- Larry VanFrachin, Brillion League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Adam Sonntag, Hillsboro City of Hillsbro
- Jack Chiovatero, New Berlin City of New Berlin
- Eugene Rosin, Kaukauna Mayor, City of Kaukauna
- Gerald bayer, Durand City of Durand
- Frank Fiorenza, Potosi Village of Potosi
- Larry MacDonald, Bayfield Mayor, City of Bayfield
- Decton Thomson, Augusta City of Augusta
- Mark Huber, Prescott City of Prescott
- James Broules, Evansville City of Evansville
- Michael Hunter, Prescott City of Prescott
- Mickey Beil, Madison Dane County
- Chris Taylor Representative, 48th Assembly District

# Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### March 7, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (8) Representatives Murtha, Litjens, Farrow, Rivard, Steineke, Young, Bewley and E. Coggs.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Farrow, seconded by Representative Steineke that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (8) Representatives Murtha, Litjens, Farrow, Rivard, Steineke, Young, Bewley and E. Coggs.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Farrow, seconded by Representative Steineke that **Assembly Bill 562** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (7) Representatives Murtha, Litjens, Farrow, Rivard, Steineke, Young and E. Coggs.

Noes: (1) Representative Bewley.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 1

Alicia Schneider Committee Clerk