Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 527

Relating to: commissioners of the Public Service Commission; notices, orders, and determinations of the commission; certificates of authority issued by the commission; approval of contracts by the commission; electricity sales from certain wholesale merchant plants; public utility removal of certain electric service lines; renewable resource credits; tampering or interfering with utility equipment; granting rule-making authority; and providing penalties.

By Representatives Klenke, Zepnick, Ballweg, Bies, Brooks, Danou, Endsley, Hintz, Jacque, Kestell, Krug, T. Larson, Marklein, Molepske Jr, Mursau, Nerison, Nygren, A. Ott, J. Ott, Petersen, Petrowski, Petryk, Rivard, Staskunas, Tauchen, Tiffany, Weininger, Ziegelbauer, Honadel and Bernier; cosponsored by Senators Zipperer, Holperin, Hansen, King, Lasee, Olsen, Shilling, Taylor and Galloway.

February 03, 2012 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities.

February 7, 2012 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:(10)Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen,
Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson, Weininger,
Zepnick, Staskunas, Hulsey.Absent:(0)None.Excused:(1)Representative Steinbrink.

Appearances For

- RJ Pirlot, Madison WI Public Service Commission
- John Lorence, Madison WI Public Service Commission
- John Klenke, Green Bay Rep., 88th Assembly District
- Bill Skewes, Madison Wisconsin Utilities Association Inc
- Scott Smith, Madison Wisconsin Utilities Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Chris Kunkle, Madison — American Wind Energy Assoc., Wind on the Wires, RENEW, WI Energy Business Assoc.

Registrations For

• Joel Haubrich, Milwaukee — We Energies

- Chris LaRowe, Madison Wisconsin Public Service Corp. (WPS)
- Scott Manley, Madison WI Manufacturers & Commerce
- Dan Ebert, Sun Prairie WPPI Energy
- Scott Meske, Sun Prairie Municipal Electric Utilities of WI
- Tony Langenohl, Madison American Transmission Company
- Matt Bromley, Madison Customers First Coalition
- Rebecca Larson, Madison Xcel Energy
- Beata Kalies, Madison Electric Cooperatives
- Todd Stuart, Madison WI Industrial Energy Group (WIEG)
- Mike Pyne, Madison IBEW 965
- Bill Jordahl, Madison Alliant Energy
- Nathan Franklin, La Crosse Dairyland Power Cooperative

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 16, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(10)	Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen,	
		Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson, Weininger,	
		Zepnick, Staskunas, Hulsey.	
Absent:	(0)	None.	
Excused:	(1)	Representative Steinbrink.	

Moved by Representative Honadel, seconded by Representative Staskunas that **Assembly Amendment** be recommended for introduction.

- Ayes: (10) Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen, Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson, Weininger, Zepnick, Steinbrink, Hulsey.
- Noes: (0) None. Absent: (1) Representative Staskunas.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Petersen, seconded by Representative Staskunas that **Assembly Amendment LRB 2315** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(10) Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen,
	Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson, Weininger,
	Zepnick, Staskunas, Hulsey.

- Noes: (0) None.
- Absent: (1) Representative Steinbrink.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRB 2315 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Petersen, seconded by Representative Staskunas that **Assembly Bill 527** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes:	(10)	Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen,
		Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson, Weininger,
		Zepnick, Staskunas, Hulsey.
Noes:	(0)	None.

Absent: (1) Representative Steinbrink.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Jason Vick Committee Clerk