Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 522

Relating to: the engagement of engineering and similar services by the Department of Transportation.

By Representatives Honadel, Krug, Ballweg, Bies, Endsley, LeMahieu, Marklein, A. Ott, Spanbauer, Stone, Strachota, Stroebel and Van Roy; cosponsored by Senator Olsen

February 03, 2012 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

February 7, 2012 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley, Knilans, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and E. Coggs.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Steinbrink.

Appearances For

- Mark Honadel Rep, 21st Assembly District
- Steve Krieser DOT
- Jayne Martinko American Council of Engineering Companies - WI
- Greg Jewell American Council of Engineering Companies -WI
- Peter Kammer American Council of Engineering Companies - WI

Appearances Against

• Julie Lassa — Sen, 24th Senate District

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Luther Olsen Sen, 14th Senate District
- Ed Brooks Rep, 50th Assembly District
- Pat Goss, Madison WI Transportation Builders Assn.
- John Rathke American Council of Engineering Companies -WI

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 28, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Endsley, Knilans, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen and Bewley.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Ripp, Steinbrink and E. Coggs.

Moved by Representative Honadel, seconded by Representative Farrow that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for rejection.

Ayes: (8) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Endsley and Knilans.

Noes: (4) Representatives Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen and Bewley.

Absent: (3) Representatives Ripp, Steinbrink and E. Coggs.

REJECTION OF ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Honadel, seconded by Representative Farrow that **Assembly Bill 522** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Endsley and Knilans.

Noes: (4) Representatives Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen and Bewley.

Absent: (3) Representatives Ripp, Steinbrink and E. Coggs.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Tim Fiocchi Committee Clerk