Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Public Health and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 487

Relating to: licensing anesthesiologist assistants and creating the Council on Anesthesiologist Assistants and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Severson, Van Roy, Vos, Spanbauer, Billings, Pasch, Zepnick and Petrowski; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Shilling, Kedzie and Taylor.

January 24, 2012 Referred to Committee on Public Health and Public Safety.

February 7, 2012 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (8) Representatives Bies, Knilans, Petrowski, Loudenbeck, Ziegelbauer, Pasch, Zamarripa and Billings.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Erik Severson Rep., 28th Assembly District
- Alberta Darling Sen., 8th Senate District
- Deborah Rusy WSA, Dept. of Anesthesiology UWHC
- Sara Strom WAAA
- Phil Hemmerling
- Robert Stupi WI Academy of Anesthesiologist Assistants
- Michael Bottcher Gunderson Lutheran Hospital
- James Mesrobian WI Society of Anesthesiologist
- Eliza Benson WIAAA

Appearances Against

- James Albrecht WI Association of Nurse Anesthetists (WANA)
- Mark Labor
- Ronald Schauland
- Shelley Ekblad
- Thomas Hilbert WANA
- Tony Driessen WANA
- Barbara Carson
- Kathleen Waterhause-Skibicki
- Carrie Jaszewski
- Karl Klotzbuecher

- Debra Dahlke
- Micah Playman

Appearances for Information Only

• Gina Dennik-Champion

Registrations For

- Josh Zepnick Rep., 9th Assembly District
- Meghan Warren
- Michael Welsh Medical College of WI
- Luther Olsen Sen., 14th Senate District
- Nikki Ackerman
- Jennifer Shilling Sen., 32nd Senate District
- William Campbell
- Jamie Hunter WAAA
- Lisa Maroney UW Health
- Jack Lund WAAA
- Robert Kettler WI Society of Anesthesiologist
- Scott Springman Dr.
- Lois Connolly Dr., WI Society of Anesthisiologists
- Jacob Peterson WAAA
- Mark Grapentine WI Medical Society
- Michelle Metner Childrens Hospital of WI
- Eric Jensen WI Chapter, American College of Emergency Physicians
- Eric Ostermann WI Academy of Physician Assistants

Registrations Against

- Jenny Albrecht
- Debrah Meyer
- Tami McCarvel
- Emily Allred
- Angela Goetsch
- Travis Sullivan
- Christine McDaniel
- Roxie Hilbert

Registrations for Information Only

• Ed Brooks — Rep., 50th Assembly District

February 21, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (8) Representatives Bies, Knilans, Petrowski, Loudenbeck, Ziegelbauer, Pasch, Zamarripa and Billings. Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Bies, seconded by Representative Pasch that **2421** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (8) Representatives Bies, Knilans, Petrowski, Loudenbeck, Ziegelbauer, Pasch, Zamarripa and Billings.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF 2421 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Petrowski, seconded by Representative Knilans that **2421** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (8) Representatives Bies, Knilans, Petrowski, Loudenbeck, Ziegelbauer, Pasch, Zamarripa and Billings.

Noes: (0) None.

2421 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Petrowski, seconded by Representative Pasch that **Assembly Bill 487** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (7) Representatives Bies, Knilans, Petrowski, Loudenbeck, Pasch, Zamarripa and Billings.

Noes: (1) Representative Ziegelbauer.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 1

Andrew Nowlan Committee Clerk