Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Assembly Bill 471

Relating to: changing terminology for those with an intellectual disability.

By Representatives Severson, Bernier, Berceau, Bies, E. Coggs, Endsley, Hintz, Jacque, Kaufert, Kerkman, Knodl, Kooyenga, Litjens, Mason, Nygren, Pasch, Petryk, Radcliffe, Rivard, Sinicki, Spanbauer, Strachota, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tranel, Zepnick and Loudenbeck; cosponsored by Senators Galloway, Harsdorf, Erpenbach, Hansen, Holperin, King, C. Larson, Moulton, Risser, Taylor, Vinehout, Lassa and Olsen.

January 09, 2012 Referred to Committee on Health.

January 25, 2012 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Stone, Severson, Kaufert, Van Roy, Strachota, Petersen, Litjens, Pasch, Seidel,

C. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Richards.

Appearances For

- Rep. Erik Severson, Star Prairie Author; 28th Assembly District
- Susan and John Olson, Milwaukee People First
- Jeanne Hrovat, Madison Special Olympics
- Barbara Katz, Madison Self
- Rick Petzke, Oregon Self
- Beth Swedeen, Madison WI Board for People w/Dev Disabilities; Survival Coalition
- Cynthia Bentley, Milwaukee Self
- Barry Kress, West Allis Self
- Jeffrey Johnson, Madison Self
- Dan Remick, Madison Self
- Jerome Holzbauer, Milwaukee Self
- Alan Ginsberg, Madison Self

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sen. Pam Galloway, Wausau 29th Senate District
- Rep. Josh Zepnick, Milwaukee 9th Assembly District
- Nathan Berken, Thiensville WI Academy of Family Physicians
- Sabrina Gentile, Madison WI Council on Children & Families
- Dennis Alldridge, Stoughton Special Olympics
- Christina Hunt, Madison Special Olympics WI
- Emily Jayne, Madison Self
- Craig Gagnon, Madison Self
- Lisa Pugh, Unknown Disability Rights WI

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 8, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Stone, Kaufert, Van Roy, Strachota, Petersen, Litjens, Richards, Pasch, Seidel, C. Taylor.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Severson.

Moved by Representative Richards, seconded by Representative Pasch that **Assembly Bill 471** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Stone, Kaufert, Van Roy, Strachota, Petersen, Litjens, Richards, Pasch, Seidel, C. Taylor.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Severson.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Marsha Dake Committee Clerk