Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Ways and Means

Assembly Bill 466

Relating to: creating an individual income tax deduction for certain contributions to a Coverdell Education Savings Account.

By Representatives Thiesfeldt, Jacque, Kerkman, Pridemore, Brooks, Spanbauer, T. Larson, Nygren, LeMahieu, Molepske Jr and Knodl; cosponsored by Senator Grothman

January 09, 2012 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means.

February 9, 2012 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (9) Representatives Kerkman, Nass, Petersen, Knodl, Endsley, Ziegelbauer, Staskunas, C. Taylor and Billings.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Kapenga and Steinbrink.

Appearances For

- Jeremy Thiesfeldt State Representative, 52nd Assembly District
- Matt Kussow WI Council of Religious and Independent Schools
- Julaine Appling Wisconsin Family Action

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

 James DiUlio — Director, Wisconsin 529 College Savings Program, Department of Administration

Registrations For

- Glenn Grothman State Senator, 20th Senate District
- Brian Pleva American Federation for Children
- Kim Wadas WI Catholic Conference

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 23, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: Representatives Kerkman, Nass, Petersen, (10)

Knodl, Endsley, Kapenga, Ziegelbauer,

Staskunas, C. Taylor, Billings.

Absent: (0)None.

Excused: (1) Representative Steinbrink.

Moved by Representative Nass, seconded by Representative Petersen that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

> (10) Representatives Kerkman, Nass, Petersen, Ayes: Knodl, Endsley, Kapenga, Ziegelbauer,

> > Staskunas, C. Taylor, Billings.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Steinbrink.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Nass, seconded by Representative Petersen that **Assembly Bill 466** be recommended for passage.

> (9) Representatives Kerkman, Nass, Petersen, Ayes: Knodl, Endsley, Kapenga, Ziegelbauer, Staskunas and Billings.

(1) Representative C. Taylor.

Noes: Absent: (1) Representative Steinbrink.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 1

Tami Rongstad Committee Clerk