Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources and Environment

Assembly Bill 384

Relating to: weapons that may be used to hunt certain animals and requirements for establishing open hunting seasons for those animals.

By Representatives Tauchen, Craig, Sinicki, Petryk, Kleefisch, Rivard, Krug, Endsley and Spanbauer; cosponsored by Senators Schultz and Taylor.

February 22, 2012 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources and Environment.

February 28, 2012 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(7)	Senators Kedzie, Moulton, Wanggaard,
		Galloway, Wirch, Holperin and C. Larson.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Gary Tauchen Representative, 6th Assembly Distric
- Mike Brust, Wausau WI Bowhunters Association
- Alan Schimelphenig WI Crossbow Federation
- John Cumming WI Crossbow Federation
- Ralph Fritsch WI Wildlife Federation
- Bruce Haukom WI Traditional Archers
- Bob Welch, Madison Safari Club International/WI Bear Hunters Association/WI Hunters Rights Coalition/WI Force

Appearances Against

• Patricia Randolph, Portage

Appearances for Information Only

• Rob Bohmann — WI Conservation Congress

Registrations For

- Dianne Wade WI Crossbow Federation
- George Meyer WI Wildlife Federation/The Federation of Great Lakes Sport Fishing Clubs
- John Gavin, Sussex
- John Lasch WI Traditional Archers
- Kevin Winkler South Central Wisconsin Archers
- Dale Schultz Senator, 17th Senate District
- Jeff Geitner, Arlington

- Ron Kuehn, Madison WI Bowhunters Association/Cranberry Growers/Cattleman and Pork Producers/Potato and Vegetable Growers/Soybean Farmers
- Kathy Maves, Oregon
- Larrie Hazen, Mount Hope

Registrations Against

- Karolina Johnson, Madison
- Deanna Devaul, Madison

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 1, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(7)	Senators Kedzie, Moulton, Wanggaard,
		Galloway, Wirch, Holperin and C. Larson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Senator Wanggaard, seconded by Senator Galloway that **Assembly Bill 384** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes: (7) Senators Kedzie, Moulton, Wanggaard, Galloway, Wirch, Holperin and C. Larson.Noes: (0) None.

CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

1A. W-75

Dan Johnson Committee Clerk