Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 278

Relating to: a sales and use tax exemption for extended-range electric vehicles; a property tax exemption for tangible personal property used to recharge electric vehicles; the motor vehicle emission inspection and maintenance program and payments to the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation related to extended-range electric vehicles; a property and sales and use tax exemption for certain machinery and tangible personal property used to conduct research; and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Stone, Honadel, Staskunas, Mursau, Pasch, Kooyenga, Fields, Spanbauer, Richards and Turner; cosponsored by Senators Darling and Zipperer.

September 28, 2011 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

December 13, 2011 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(14)	Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott,
		Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley,
		Knilans, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard
		Schaber, Jorgensen and Bewley.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative E. Coggs.

Appearances For

- Jeff Stone Rep., 82nd Assembly District
- Michael Andrew Johnson Controls and Wisconsin Energy Research Consortium
- Joel Haubrich We Energies
- Joe Dalum Odyne Systems, LLC
- Don Nelson UW Madison
- Mary Czech-Mrochinski Marquette University

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Joe Hoch — Department of Natural Resources

Registrations For

- Katie Walby General Motors
- Amy Boyer WI Economic Development Association

Registrations Against

• Curtis Witynski — League of Wisconsin Municipalities

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 7, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(14)	Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott,
		Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley,
		Knilans, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen,
		Bewley and E. Coggs.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Steinbrink.

February 14, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(13)	Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott,
		Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley,
		Knilans, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley
		and E. Coggs.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Steinbrink and Vruwink.

Moved by Representative Stone, seconded by Representative Farrow that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(13)	Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott,
		Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley,
		Knilans, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley
		and E. Coggs.
Noes:	(0)	None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Steinbrink and Vruwink.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Stone, seconded by Representative Farrow that **Assembly Bill 278** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(13)	Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott,
		Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley,
		Knilans, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley
		and E. Coggs.
Noes:	(0)	None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Steinbrink and Vruwink.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Tim Fiocchi Committee Clerk