Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Insurance

Assembly Bill 277

Relating to: adopting federal law as it relates to excluding from an employee's income certain payments from an employer related to medical care.

By Representatives Strachota, Kaufert, Doyle, LeMahieu, Spanbauer, Endsley, Kerkman, Brooks, Molepske Jr and A. Ott; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, Leibham, Holperin, Olsen and Lasee.

September 27, 2011 Referred to Committee on Insurance.

October 6, 2011 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (15) Representatives Petersen, Weininger, Kestell, Nygren, August, Kapenga, Tranel, Craig, Stroebel, Ziegelbauer, D. Cullen, Berceau, Fields, Young and Doyle.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Molepske Jr.

Appearances For

- Pat Strachota Representative, State Assembly
- Steve Doyle Representative, State Assembly
- J.P. Wieske Leg. Liaison, OCI
- Kevin Head Manasha Corporation
- Jason Culotta WMC
- Melissa Duffy The Alliance
- Dean Kaufert Representative, State Assembly

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Tony Driessen DeWitt, Ross, and Stevens
- Paul Lucas Miller Coors
- Jeff Crawford Forest City Potawatomi
- Paul Merline WI. Hospital Assoc
- Carrie Kahn WI. Association of Health Plans
- Misha Lee Sentry Ins.

- Vaughn Vance WEA Trust
- Ted Osthelder Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield
- Matt Banaszynski IIAW
- Michael Welsh Medical College Of WI
- Bob Welch Local 139 Operating Engineers
- Michelle Mettner Childrens Hospital

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 11, 2011 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Representatives Petersen, Weininger, Kestell, Present: (15)Nygren, August, Kapenga, Tranel, Craig, Stroebel, Ziegelbauer, D. Cullen, Berceau,

Fields, Young and Doyle.

Absent: (0)None.

Excused: Representative Molepske Jr. (1)

Moved by Representative Nygren, seconded by Representative Kestell that **Assembly Bill 277** be recommended for passage.

> (13) Representatives Petersen, Weininger, Kestell, Ayes: Nygren, August, Kapenga, Tranel, Ziegelbauer, D. Cullen, Berceau, Fields, Young and Doyle.

Representatives Craig and Stroebel. Noes:

Absent: (1) Representative Molepske Jr.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 2

Jim Bowers Committee Clerk