Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 216

Relating to: maintenance and removal of vegetation obstructing the view of outdoor advertising signs along highways under the jurisdiction of the Department of Transportation.

By Representatives Honadel, Bies, Brooks, Kestell, LeMahieu, Mursau, Nerison, Nygren, Spanbauer, Staskunas, Stone, Strachota, Tiffany, Van Roy, Vruwink, Weininger and Wynn; cosponsored by Senators Grothman, Darling, Lasee, Moulton, Olsen and Schultz.

August 09, 2011 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

September 20, 2011 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(15)	Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott,
		Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley,
		Knilans, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard
		Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and Doyle.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Mark Honadel Representative, 21st Assembly District
- Janet Swandby Outdoor Advertising Assoc. of Wisconsin
- Dan Pomeroy Clear Channel Outdoor
- Mark Rausch, Pewaukee Clear Channel Outdoor
- Rich Reinart, Marshfield Lamar Advertising
- Keith Carson, La Crosse Olympus Media
- Jery Falvey, Brookfield Clear Channel Outdoor
- Brad Yarmark, Milton Lamar Advertising

Appearances Against

- Edward Kleckner, Menasha Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin
- Shirley Brabender Mattox, Oshkosh Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin
- Vernie Smith, Viroqua Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• Steven Krieser, Madison — WisDOT

Registrations For

- Amy Boyer, Madison WI Assn. of Convention and Visitor Bureaus
- Bill Mitchell, Marshfield Lamar Advertising
- Jane Sweasy, Green Bay Jag Outdoor Advertising
- Adam Schober, Madison Schober Outdoor Advertising
- Craig Hendricks, Madison Adams Outdoor Advertising
- Jason Saari, Madison Adams Outdoor Advertising
- Kurt Weis, Oak Creek Lamar Advertising of Milwaukee
- Tom Howells, Madison WI Motor Carriers Assn.
- Chet Gerlach, Madison Assn. of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions
- Michelle Kussow, Madison Wisconsin Grocers Assn.
- Mary Ann Gerrard WI Auto & Truck Dealers Assn.
- Jennifer Badeau, Madison WI Petroleum Marketers & Convenience Store Assn.
- Romy Snyder, Wisconsin Dells Wisconsin Dells Visitor & Convention Bureau
- Pete Hanson, Madison Wisconsin Restaurant Assn.

Registrations Against

- Stephen Hiniker, Madison 1000 Friends of Wisconsin
- Gary Goyke, Madison Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 14, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

 Present: (13) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley, Knilans, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and E. Coggs.
Absent: (0) None.
Excused: (2) Representatives Steinbrink and Vruwink.

Moved by Representative Stone, seconded by Representative Van Roy that **Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction and adoption.

- Ayes: (13) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley, Knilans, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and E. Coggs.
- Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Steinbrink and Vruwink.

INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Stone, seconded by Representative Farrow that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(12)	Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott,
		Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley,
		Knilans, Jorgensen, Bewley and E. Coggs.
Noes:	(1)	Representative Bernard Schaber.
	(a)	

Absent: (2) Representatives Steinbrink and Vruwink.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 1

Moved by Representative A. Ott, seconded by Representative Honadel that **Assembly Bill 216** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(12)	Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott,
		Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley,
		Knilans, Jorgensen, Bewley and E. Coggs.
Noes:	(1)	Representative Bernard Schaber.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Steinbrink and Vruwink.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 1

Tim Fiocchi Committee Clerk