Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources

Assembly Bill 201

Relating to: regulation of geothermal well drillers and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives A. Ott, Brooks, Clark, Petryk and Spanbauer; cosponsored by Senators Kedzie, Olsen and Taylor.

July 19, 2011 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources.

January 4, 2012 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Mursau, Rivard, Nerison, Steineke, Tiffany, Stroebel, Litjens, Molepske Jr, Mason, Danou and Hulsey.

Absent: (5) Representatives Williams, Kleefisch, Severson, Clark and Milroy.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Al Ott, Madison Representative, 3rd Assembly District
- Keith Meyers Wisconsin Water Well Association
- Dick Spanbauer, Madison Representative, 53rd Assembly District
- Bruce Walker, Grand Marsh Wisconsin Geothermal Association
- Terry Marshall, Wisconsin Dells Wisconsin Water Well Association
- Jeff Beiriger, East Troy Wisconsin Water Well Association

Appearances Against

- Gordy Oosterhouse, Randolph G.O. Loop
- M. Archibald, Milwaukee Earthlinked Tech
- Tom Niesen, Kenosha Gateway Technical College

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jeff Beiriger, East Troy Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors Association
- Robb Kahl, Madison Construction Business Group

- Terry McGowan, Pewaukee Operating Engineers Local 139
- Neal Kedzie, Madison Senator, 11th Senate District

Registrations Against

• Paul Gabriel, Madison — Wisconsin Technical College District Boards Association, Inc

Registrations for Information Only

• Steve Ales, Madison — Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

March 7, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (16) Representatives Mursau, Rivard, Williams, Kleefisch, Nerison, Severson, Steineke, Tiffany, Stroebel, Litjens, Molepske Jr, Mason, Danou, Clark, Milroy and Hulsey.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Rivard, seconded by Representative Kleefisch that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (16) Representatives Mursau, Rivard, Williams, Kleefisch, Nerison, Severson, Steineke, Tiffany, Stroebel, Litjens, Molepske Jr, Mason, Danou, Clark, Milroy and Hulsey.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Kleefisch, seconded by Representative Rivard that **Assembly Bill 201** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (16) Representatives Mursau, Rivard, Williams, Kleefisch, Nerison, Severson, Steineke, Tiffany, Stroebel, Litjens, Molepske Jr, Mason, Danou, Clark, Milroy and Hulsey.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Tim Gary Committee Clerk