## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Rural Economic Development and Rural Affairs**

#### **Assembly Bill 2**

Relating to: authorizing the designation of additional enterprise zones and requiring the designation of enterprise zones in rural areas.

By Representatives Rivard, Williams, Severson, Ballweg, Bies, Brooks, Krug, LeMahieu, Mursau, A. Ott, Petrowski, Ripp, Spanbauer, Steineke, Tranel and Kestell; cosponsored by Senators Galloway, Harsdorf, Holperin, Lasee and Moulton.

January 14, 2011 Referred to Committee on Rural Economic Development and Rural Affairs.

#### February 9, 2011 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives A. Ott, Steineke, Murtha,

Tauchen, Ripp, Krug, T. Larson, Rivard, Danou, Vruwink, Jorgensen, Radcliffe, Roys

and Ringhand.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Petrowski.

#### Appearances For

- Representative Roger Rivard 75th Assembly District
- Senator Pam Galloway 29th Senate District

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

- David Volz Wisconsin Department of Commerce
- Julie Keal Wisconsin Department of Commerce

#### **Registrations For**

- Representative Mary Williams 87th Assembly District
- Shawn Pfaff, Madison Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association

#### Registrations Against

• None.

#### Registrations for Information Only

None.

#### March 2, 2011 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives A. Ott, Petrowski, Murtha, Tauchen, Ripp, Krug, T. Larson, Rivard, Danou, Vruwink, Jorgensen, Radcliffe and Ringhand.

Absent: (2) Representatives Steineke and Roys.

Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Rivard, seconded by Representative Ringhand that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (13) Representatives A. Ott, Petrowski, Murtha, Tauchen, Ripp, Krug, T. Larson, Rivard, Danou, Vruwink, Jorgensen, Radcliffe and Ringhand.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Steineke and Roys.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Petrowski, seconded by Representative Ringhand that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representatives A. Ott, Petrowski, Murtha, Tauchen, Ripp, Krug, T. Larson, Rivard, Danou, Vruwink, Jorgensen, Radcliffe and Ringhand.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Steineke and Roys.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Tauchen, seconded by Representative Ringhand that **Assembly Bill 2** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representatives A. Ott, Petrowski, Murtha, Tauchen, Ripp, Krug, T. Larson, Rivard, Radcliffe, Ringhand.

Noes: (3) Representatives Danou, Vruwink and Jorgensen.

## Absent: (2) Representatives Steineke and Roys.

# PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 3

Erin Ruby Committee Clerk