Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Rural Economic Development and Rural Affairs

Assembly Bill 181

Relating to: authorizing towns to challenge certain city or village annexation procedures.

By Representatives A. Ott, Bernier, Bies, Brooks, Craig, Kerkman, Kestell, LeMahieu, Murtha, Petersen, Pridemore, Spanbauer, Tauchen and Vruwink; cosponsored by Senators Lasee, Holperin, Kedzie and Moulton.

June 13, 2011 Referred to Committee on Rural Economic Development and Rural Affairs.

August 10, 2011 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

| Present: | (0) | None. |
|----------|-----|-------|
|----------|-----|-------|

| Absent: | (0) | None |
|---------|-----|------|
| | | |

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Al Ott 3rd Assembly District
- Representative Richard Spanbauer 53rd Assembly District
- Richard Stadelman, Shawano Wisconsin Towns Association
- Travis Parish, Appleton Town of Harrison (Calumet County)
- Steve Bevers, Menasha Town of Harrison (Calumet County)
- Joe Sprangers, Menasha Town of Harrison (Calumet County)
- John Slotten, Menasha Town of Harrison (Calumet County)
- Lyle Updike, Marshall Town of Sun Prairie (Dane County)
- Glen Schwalbach, De Pere Town of Rockland (Brown County)
- Charles McCourt, Fond du Lac Town of Friendship (Fond du Lac County)
- Kendall Schneider, Evansville Town of Union (Rock County)
- Jerry Derr, Columbus Wisconsin Towns Association
- Matthew Fleming, Madison Town of Windsor (Dane County)

Appearances Against

- Curt Witynski, Madison League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Forbes McIntosh, Madison Dane County Cities & Villages Association
- John Laubmeier, Waunakee Village of Waunakee
- Nadine Walsten, Brooklyn Village of Brooklyn

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Robert Kovach Senator Frank Lasee
- Howard Hemmer, Beloit Town of Beloit (Rock County)
- Richard Nawrocki, Hartland Town of Merton (Waukesha County)
- Kathleen Nawrocki, Hartland Town of Merton (Waukesha County)
- William Goehring, Random Lake Town of Sherman (Sheboygan County)
- Lee Engelbrecht, Two Rivers Town of Two Creeks (Manitowoc County)
- Ann Jablonski, Madison Wisconsin Towns Association
- Roger Fetterly, Sun Prairie Town of Sun Prairie (Dane County) Plan Commission
- Mark Hazelbaker, Madison

Registrations Against

- Nick Zavos, Madison City of Madison
- Brad Boycks, Madison Wisconsin Builders Association
- E. Joe Murray, Madison Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Larry Bierke, Platteville City of Platteville

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

November 2, 2011 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives A. Ott, Steineke, Petrowski, Murtha, Tauchen, Ripp, Krug, T. Larson, Rivard, Danou, Vruwink, Jorgensen, Ringhand and Doyle.
Absent: (0) None.
Excused: (1) Representative Radcliffe. Moved by Representative Steineke, seconded by Representative Vruwink that Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 be recommended for adoption.

| Ayes: | (14) | Representatives A. Ott, Steineke, Petrowski, |
|-------|------|--|
| | | Murtha, Tauchen, Ripp, Krug, T. Larson, |
| | | Rivard, Danou, Vruwink, Jorgensen, |
| | | Ringhand and Doyle. |
| Noes: | (0) | None. |

Absent: (1) Representative Radcliffe.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Vruwink, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

| Ayes: | (14) | Representatives A. Ott, Steineke, Petrowski, |
|---------|------|--|
| | | Murtha, Tauchen, Ripp, Krug, T. Larson, |
| | | Rivard, Danou, Vruwink, Jorgensen, |
| | | Ringhand and Doyle. |
| Noes: | (0) | None. |
| Absent: | (1) | Representative Radcliffe. |

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Vruwink, seconded by Representative Petrowski that **Assembly Bill 181** be recommended for passage as amended.

| Ayes: | (14) | Representatives A. Ott, Steineke, Petrowski, |
|--------|-------|--|
| | | Murtha, Tauchen, Ripp, Krug, T. Larson, |
| | | Rivard, Danou, Vruwink, Jorgensen, |
| | | Ringhand and Doyle. |
| Noes: | (0) | None. |
| Absent | : (1) | Representative Radcliffe. |

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Committee Clerk