## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Health**

### **Assembly Bill 147**

Relating to: inadmissibility of a statement of apology or condolence by a health care provider.

By Representatives Severson, Nygren, Strachota, Kaufert, Bewley, Bies, Brooks, Jacque, Ripp, Spanbauer, Tauchen and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators Galloway, Cowles, Darling, Holperin, Schultz and Wanggaard.

May 23, 2011 Referred to Committee on Health.

June 1, 2011 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (11) Representatives Stone, Severson, Kaufert, Van Roy, Strachota, Petersen, Litjens, Richards, Pasch, Pocan and Seidel.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

## Appearances For

- Rep. Eric Severson 28th Assembly District
- Norm Jensen, MD, Madison WI Medical Society
- Dr. Charles Shabino, Madison WI Hospital Assn
- Mark Grapentine, Madison WI Medical Society

#### Appearances Against

• Mike End, Madison — WI Assn for Justice

### **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Sen. Pam Galloway 29th Senate District
- Michael Heifetz, Madison St Mary's Hospital
- Michael Heifetz, Madison SSM Health Care-Wisconsin
- Maureen McNally, Milwaukee Froedert Memorial Lutheran Hospital
- Karla Ashenhurst, Milwaukee Ministry Health Care
- Paul Merline, Madison WI Hospital Assn
- Michael Welsh, Madison WI Academy of Family Physicians
- Eric Jensen, Madison WI Academy of Ophthalmologists

- Eric Jensen, Madison WI Chapter, American College of Emergency Physicians
- Eric Jensen, Madison WI Society of Anesthesiologists
- Wendy Varish, Cleveland, WI
- Russ Leonard, Madison WI Chiropractic Assn
- Tony Driessen, Madison WI Society of Podiatric Medicine
- Tony Driessen, Madison WI Assn of Nurse Anesthetists
- Jeremy Levin Rural WI Health Cooperative
- Lisa Maroney, Madison UW Health
- Katie Walby, Madison Aurora Healthcare
- Mara Brooks, Madison WI Dental Assn
- Jason Johns, Madison WI Physical Therapy Assn
- Kyle Fischer, Madison Self
- Mary K Grasmick, Madison Self

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### August 24, 2011 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Stone, Severson, Kaufert, Van

Roy, Strachota, Petersen, Litjens, Richards,

Pasch, Pocan.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Seidel.

Moved by Representative Richards, seconded by Representative Stone that **Assembly Amendment LRB a1459/1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (3) Representatives Richards, Pasch and Pocan.

Noes: (7) Representatives Stone, Severson, Kaufert,

Van Roy, Strachota, Petersen and Litjens.

Absent: (1) Representative Seidel.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRB A1459/1 NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Kaufert, seconded by Representative Severson that **Assembly Bill 147** be recommended for passage.

(7) Representatives Stone, Severson, Kaufert, Ayes: Van Roy, Strachota, Petersen and Litjens. Noes:

Representatives Richards, Pasch and Pocan. (3)

Absent: (1) Representative Seidel.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 3

Marsha Dake Committee Clerk