Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 132

Relating to: motor vehicle dealers.

By Representatives Ballweg, Barca, Bernier, Brooks, Clark, Endsley, Kestell, Klenke, T. Larson, Mason, Mursau, A. Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Ripp, Seidel, Spanbauer, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Weininger, Williams, Zepnick, Murtha and Tiffany; cosponsored by Senators Leibham, Carpenter, Cowles, T. Cullen, Erpenbach, Hansen, Holperin, Kapanke, Lasee, Olsen, Schultz, Wanggaard and Wirch.

May 17, 2011 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

May 24, 2011 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (15) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott,

Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley, Knilans, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and Hulsey.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Joan Balweg Rep.
- Bill Sepic, Madison WI Auto Dealers
- Tom Thorstead, Madison
- Brad Schlossmann, Milwaukee Schlossmann Auto Group
- Frank Porth, Columbus
- Brian Ewald, Oconomowoc WI Auto and Truck Dealers Assn.
- Michael Cuene, Green Bay Broadway Automotive
- Chris Schneider, Madison WI Auto and Truck Dealers Association
- Jerome Brickner, Wausau

Appearances Against

- Bob Fassbender, Madison Alliance of Auto Manufacturers
- Richard Epstein, Chicago, Professor, Alliance of Auto Manufacturers
- Jeff Perry, Detroit General Motors
- Brian O'Connell, Lansing General Motors
- Mary Culler, Downers Grove Ford Motor Co.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Joe Leibham Sen.
- Frank Hallada, Dodgeville Hallada Motors
- Tom Zimbrick, Madison Zimbrick Inc.
- Scott Tyre
- Vern Trecek, Portage Trecek Automotive of Portage
- James Neustadt, Madison Smart Motors
- Tim Welch, Beaver Dam Lidtke Motors

Registrations Against

• George Klaetsch — WI Coalition for Consumer Choice

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

June 2, 2011 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley, Knilans, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and Hulsey.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Farrow, seconded by Representative Bernard Schaber that **Assembly Amendment** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley, Knilans, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and Hulsey.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Farrow, seconded by Representative Bernard Schaber that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley,

Knilans, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and Hulsey.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Farrow, seconded by Representative Vruwink that **Assembly Bill 132** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and Hulsey.

Noes: (1) Representative Knilans.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Tim Fiocchi Committee Clerk