Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 114

Relating to: eligibility of hydroelectric resources under the renewable portfolio standard.

By Representatives Klenke, Weininger, Jacque, Honadel, Steineke, Ziegelbauer, Nygren, Tauchen, Petersen, A. Ott, Bies, Meyer, Petrowski, Van Roy, LeMahieu, Tiffany and Spanbauer; cosponsored by Senators Lasee, Galloway, Leibham, Hopper, Wirch, Holperin and Hansen.

April 27, 2011 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities.

May 3, 2011 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen, Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson, Weininger, Zepnick, Steinbrink, Staskunas and Hulsey.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- John Klenke, Green Bay Rep., 88th Assembly District
- Pat Schillinger, Green Bay WI Public Service

Appearances Against

- Mark Warnick, Madison Small Business WI Renewable Industry
- Helen Sarakinos, Madison River Alliance of WI
- Michael Vickerman, Madison Renew Wisconsin
- Kevin Crawford, Manitowoc Orion
- Keith Reopelle, Madison Clean Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• Eric Swanson, Minneapolis — Manitoba Hydro

Registrations For

- Scott Manley, Madison WI Manufacturers & Commerce
- Brandon Scholz, Madison Brown County Citizens for Responsible Wind Energy
- Nick George, Madison Midwest Food Processors Association
- Todd Stuart, Madison WI Industrial Energy Group

Registrations Against

- Kim Wright, Madison Midwest Environmental Advocates
- Jennifer Giegrich WI League of Conservation Voters
- Edward Knhorski, Madison
- Steve Books, Mount Horeb

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

May 11, 2011 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen,

Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson, Weininger,

Zepnick, Steinbrink, Hulsey.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Staskunas.

Moved by Representative Zepnick, seconded by Representative Petersen that **Assembly Bill 114** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen,

Tauchen, T. Larson, Severson, Weininger,

Zepnick and Steinbrink.

Noes: (1) Representative Hulsey.

Absent: (1) Representative Staskunas.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 1

Jason Vick Committee Clerk