

STATE OF WISCONSIN Assembly Journal

One-Hundredth Regular Session

3:39 P.M.

TUESDAY, March 1, 2011

The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.

Speaker Fitzgerald in the chair.

Representative Knodl asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.

A quorum was present.

Speaker Pro Tempore Kramer in the chair.

The prayer was offered by Representative LeMahieu.

Representative Radcliffe led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

The roll was taken.

The result follows:

Present - Representatives August, Ballweg, Barca, Berceau, Bernard Schaber, Bernier, Bewley, Bies, Brooks, Clark, E. Coggs, D. Cullen, Danou, Endsley, Farrow, Grigsby, Hebl, Hintz, Honadel, Hulsey, Jacque, Jorgensen, Kapenga, Kaufert, Kerkman, Kessler, Kestell, Kleefisch, Klenke, Knilans, Knodl, Knudson, Kooyenga, Kramer, Krug, Krusick, Kuglitsch, T. Larson, LeMahieu, Litjens, Loudenbeck, Marklein, Mason, Meyer, Milroy, Molepske Jr, Mursau, Murtha, Nass, Nerison, A. Ott, J. Ott, Parisi, Pasch, Petersen, Petrowski, Petryk, Pocan, Pope-Roberts, Pridemore, Radcliffe, Richards, Ringhand, Ripp, Rivard, Roys, Seidel, Shilling, Spanbauer, Staskunas, Steinbrink, Steineke, Stone, Strachota, Suder, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tiffany, Toles, Tranel, Turner, Van Roy, Vos, Vruwink, Weininger, Williams, Wynn, Young, Zamarripa, Zepnick, Ziegelbauer and Speaker Fitzgerald - 92.

Absent with leave – Representatives Fields, Nygren, Severson and Sinicki – 4.

Vacancies - 60th, 83rd and 94th Assembly District - 3.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE

Representative Ballweg asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representatives Nygren and Severson. Granted.

Representative Roys asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representatives Fields and Sinicki. Granted.

Speaker Fitzgerald in the chair.

INTRODUCTION AND REFERENCE OF PROPOSALS

Read first time and referred:

Assembly Bill 37

Relating to: authorizing the City of Milwaukee to sell city–owned property used for school purposes.

By Representatives Honadel, Fields, Berceau, Bies, Marklein, Pridemore, Rivard, Strachota and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Lazich, Carpenter and Grothman.

To committee on **Education**.

Assembly Bill 38

Relating to: authorizing the town of Brookfield in Waukesha County to create a tax incremental district for a retail project.

By Representative Farrow; cosponsored by Senator Zipperer.

To committee on Jobs, Economy and Small Business.

Assembly Bill 39

Relating to: composition of the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System.

By Representatives Severson, Ballweg, Bewley, Brooks, Knudson, LeMahieu, Mursau, A. Ott, Rivard, Shilling, Spanbauer, Tauchen and Wynn; cosponsored by Senators

Harsdorf, Galloway, Olsen, Moulton, Lassa and Schultz.

To committee on **Colleges and Universities**.

Assembly Bill 40

Relating to: state finances and appropriations, constituting the executive budget act of the 2011 legislature.

By joint committee on Finance.

To joint committee on Finance.

To joint survey committee on Tax Exemptions.

MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

From: Robert J. Marchant, Senate Chief Clerk.

Mr. Speaker:

I am directed to inform you that the Senate has

Passed and asks concurrence in:

Senate Bill 11 Senate Bill 15 Senate Bill 21

ACTION ON THE SENATE MESSAGE

Senate Bill 11

Relating to: the filing of certain forms related to Tax Incremental Financing District Number 72 in the city of Milwaukee.

By Senators Taylor, S. Coggs and C. Larson; cosponsored by Representatives Fields, E. Coggs, Kessler, Turner, Grigsby, Young and Staskunas.

To committee on **Rules**.

Senate Bill 15

Relating to: collection and analysis of motor vehicle traffic stop information and law enforcement training standards.

By Senators Lazich, Wanggaard, Grothman, Schultz, Leibham, Jauch and Olsen; cosponsored by Representatives Bernier, Jacque, Mursau, Thiesfeldt, Nass, Farrow, Brooks, LeMahieu, Vos, Ziegelbauer, Petersen, Kerkman, Ripp, Kooyenga, Bies, Strachota, Kleefisch, Kestell and Marklein.

To committee on Rules.

Senate Bill 21

Relating to: authorizing the town of Brookfield in Waukesha County to create a tax incremental district for a retail project.

By Senator Zipperer; cosponsored by Representative Farrow.

To committee on **Rules**.

PATRICK E. FULLER Assembly Chief Clerk

COMMUNICATIONS

March 1, 2011

Speaker Jeff Fitzgerald Room 211 West, State Capitol Madison, WI 53708

Dear Speaker Fitzgerald:

Attached is the updated seating chart for the Wisconsin State Assembly for the 2011-2013 Legislative Session. This updated seating chart reflects a change in seating assignments for the Representatives from the 1st and 56th Assembly Districts.

Regards, JOAN BALLWEG Caucus Chair

March 1, 2011

Patrick Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk 17 West Main Street, Suite 401 Madison, WI 53703

Dear Chief Clerk Fuller:

Please add my name as a co-author of Assembly Bill 14, relating to county and municipal expenditures for emergency services.

Sincerely, AMY LOUDENBECK State Representative 45th Assembly District

AGENCY REPORTS

State of Wisconsin Joint Legislative Council Madison

February 28, 2011

Patrick Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk 17 West Main Street, Suite 401 Madison, WI 53703

Dear Patrick:

Enclosed is a copy of the 2010 Annual Report Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse, submitted to the Legislature pursuant to s. 227.15 (5), Stats.

> Sincerely, TERRY ANDERSON Director

Speaker Fitzgerald in the chair.

Speaker Fitzgerald appointed Representative Litjens to escort Governor Scott Walker from his office to the Assembly Chamber.

The Assembly Sergeant-at-Arms Anne Tonnon Byers announced the arrival of the members of the Wisconsin State Senate.

JOINT CONVENTION

The houses went into joint convention.

Senate President Ellis presiding.

Senator Ellis recognized the presence of Lieutenant Governor Rebecca Kleefisch, State Treasurer Kurt Schuller, Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen, Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Evers, Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, Justice Ann Walsh Bradley, Justice N. Patrick Crooks, Justice David T. Prosser, Jr., Justice Patience Drake Roggensack, Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler and Justice Michael J. Gableman of the Wisconsin Supreme Court.

The Assembly Sergeant-at-Arms Anne Tonnon Byers announced the arrival of Governor Scott Walker.

Escorted by Senator Galloway and Representative Litjens, Governor Scott Walker took his place at the rostrum to deliver his budget address.

Pursuant to Joint Rule 73, the governor's budget address is printed in the Senate Journal only.

Representative Suder moved that the joint convention arise.

The question was: Shall the joint convention arise?

Motion carried.

4:37 P.M.

The Assembly reconvened.

Speaker Fitzgerald in the chair.

Representative Suder asked unanimous consent that the Assembly stand recessed. Granted.

The Assembly stood recessed.

4:38 P.M.

4:41 P.M.

RECESS

The Assembly reconvened.

Speaker Fitzgerald in the chair.

ADJOURNMENT

Representative Suder moved that the Assembly stand adjourned until 10:00 A.M. on Thursday, March 3.

The question was: Shall the Assembly stand adjourned?

Motion carried.

The Assembly stood adjourned.

4:42 P.M.