

STATE OF WISCONSIN Assembly Journal

One-Hundredth Regular Session

6:29 P.M.

TUESDAY, February 1, 2011

The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.

Speaker Pro Tempore Kramer in the chair.

Representative Suder asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.

A quorum was present.

The prayer was offered by Representative Kapenga.

Representative Kaufert led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

The roll was taken.

The result follows:

Present - Representatives August, Ballweg, Barca, Berceau, Bernier, Bewley, Bies, Brooks, Clark, E. Coggs, D. Cullen, Danou, Endsley, Farrow, Fields, Grigsby, Hebl, Hintz, Honadel, Hulsey, Jacque, Jorgensen, Kapenga, Kaufert, Kerkman, Kessler, Kestell, Kleefisch, Klenke, Knilans, Knodl, Knudson, Kooyenga, Kramer, Krug, Krusick, Kuglitsch, T. Larson, LeMahieu, Litjens, Loudenbeck, Marklein, Mason, Meyer, Milroy, Molepske Jr, Mursau, Murtha, Nass, Nerison, Nygren, A. Ott, J. Ott, Parisi, Pasch, Petersen, Petrowski, Petryk, Pocan, Pridemore, Radcliffe, Richards, Ringhand, Ripp, Rivard, Roys, Seidel, Severson, Shilling, Sinicki, Spanbauer, Staskunas, Steinbrink, Steineke, Stone, Strachota, Suder, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tiffany, Toles, Tranel, Turner, Van Roy, Vos, Vruwink, Weininger, Williams, Wynn, Young, Zamarripa, Zepnick, Ziegelbauer and Speaker Fitzgerald – 94.

Absent with leave – Representatives Bernard Schaber and Pope–Roberts – 2.

Vacancies – 60th, 83rd and 94th Assembly District – 3.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE

Representative Roys asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representatives Bernard Schaber and Pope–Roberts. Granted.

Speaker Fitzgerald in the chair.

Speaker Fitzgerald appointed Representatives Loudenbeck and Zamarripa to escort Governor Scott Walker from his office to the Assembly Chamber.

The Assembly Sergeant-at-Arms Anne Tonnon Byers announced the arrival of the Honorable Justices of the Wisconsin Supreme Court.

The Assembly Sergeant-at-Arms Anne Tonnon Byers announced the arrival of the members of the Wisconsin State Senate.

JOINT CONVENTION

The houses went into joint convention.

Senate President Ellis presiding.

Senator Ellis recognized the presence of Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, Justice Ann Walsh Bradley, Justice N. Patrick Crooks, Justice David T. Prosser, Jr., Justice Patience Drake Roggensack, Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler and Justice Michael J. Gableman of the Wisconsin Supreme Court; Lieutenant Governor Rebecca Kleefisch, Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen, Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Evers and State Treasurer Kurt Schuller.

The Assembly Sergeant-at-Arms Anne Tonnon Byers announced the arrival of Governor Scott Walker.

Escorted by Senators Holperin and Vukmir, and Representatives Loudenbeck and Zamarripa, Governor Scott Walker took his place at the rostrum to deliver his state of the state address.

Pursuant to Joint Rule 73, the governor's message is printed in the Senate journal only.

Representative Suder moved that the joint convention arise.

The question was: Shall the joint convention arise?

Motion carried.

7:37 P.M.

The Assembly reconvened.

Speaker Fitzgerald in the chair.

ADJOURNMENT

Representative Suder moved that the Assembly stand adjourned until 11:00 A.M. on Wednesday, February 2.

The question was: Shall the Assembly stand adjourned?

Motion carried.

The Assembly stood adjourned.

7:38 P.M.