Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Environment

Senate Bill 632

Relating to: control of nonpoint source water pollution in certain areas with carbonate bedrock and granting rule-making authority.

By Senators Hansen, Miller, Sullivan, Taylor, Coggs and Risser; cosponsored by Representatives Black, Pasch, Sinicki, Berceau, Mason and Milroy.

March 18, 2010 Referred to Committee on Environment.

March 23, 2010 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (5) Senators Miller, Jauch, Wirch, Kedzie and

Olsen.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Jennifer Giegerich, Madison Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Charles Wagner, Luxemburg Himself
- Dave Hansen, Green Bay Senator, 30th Senate District
- Bill Hafs, Green Bay Brown County
- Denny Caneff, Madison River Alliance of Wisconsin
- Eugene McLeod, Chilton Himself
- Brian Forest, Sturgeon Bay Door County
- Heather Mueller, Milwaukee on behalf of Judy Treml
- Jennifer Nelson, Steuben Herself
- Elaine Swanson, Pickett People Empowered to Protect Rosendale
- James Kerler, Lake Mills Sierra Club
- Kelvin Rodolfo, Viroqua himself
- Jessica Lindner, Madison herself
- Julian Zelazny, Madison Wisconsin Land & Water Conservation Association

Appearances Against

• Laurie Fischer, Oneida — Dairy Business Association

Appearances for Information Only

- Kathy Pielsticker, Madison DATCP
- Jim Vandenbrook, Madison DATCP

Registrations For

- Kevin Colson, Madison himself
- Jerre Duerr, Oxford himself
- Gloria Duerr, Oxford herself
- Dennis Grzezinski, Milwaukee himself
- William Lynch, Milwaukee himself
- Anne Sayers, Madison Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Ezra Meyer, Madison himself
- Melissa Scanlan, Milwaukee herself
- Shahla Werner, Madison herself
- Kenneth Bradbury, Brooklyn himself
- Kerry Schumann, Madison herself
- Joseph Syverson, Madison himself
- Natalie Byrne, Madison herself
- Brian Pruka, Madison himself
- Kimberlee Wright, Madison Midwest Environmental Advocates
- Casey Eggleston, Madison The Nature Conservancy
- James Saul, Madison Midwest Environmental Advocates
- Amber Meyer Smith, Madison Clean Wisconsin
- Lisa Conley, Oconomowoc Town & County Resoruce Conservation & Development
- C. Barrie White, Wisconsin Dells self
- Pam Kleiss, Madison Physicians for Social Responsibility
- Karen Etter Hale, Madison Madison Audubon Society
- Laura Payne, Cambridge herself
- Spencer Black, Madison Representative, 77th Assembly District
- Tom Thoresen, Fitchburg himself
- George Meyer, Madison Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Tom Stolp, Eau Claire himself
- Susan Ecklor, Elkhart Lake Sheboygan County Conservation Association
- Gene Ecklor, Elkhart Lake Sheboygan County Conservation Association
- Ned Gatzke, Sparta himself
- Carol Gatzke, Sparta herself
- Matthew Dannenberg, Watertown himself
- Kathleen Crittenden, Viroqua herself
- Abagail Jackson, Pleasant Prairie Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters

Registrations Against

- Jordan Lamb, Madison WI Pork Association and WI Cattlemen's Assn.
- Nick George, Madison Midwest Food Processing
- Paul Zimmerman, Madison Wisconsin Farm Bureau
- Bob Welch, Madison WI Corn Growers

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 1, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Miller, Jauch, Wirch, Kedzie and

Olsen.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Miller, seconded by Senator Wirch that **Senate Bill 632** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (3) Senators Miller, Jauch and Wirch.

Noes: (2) Senators Kedzie and Olsen.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Elizabeth Bier Committee Clerk