Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor, Elections and Urban Affairs

Senate Bill 585

Relating to: prohibiting discrimination against an employee who declines to attend an employer-sponsored meeting or to participate in any communication with the employer or with an agent, representative, or designee of the employer, the primary purpose of which is to communicate the opinion of the employer about religious or political matters.

By Senators Coggs, Hansen, Lassa, Kreitlow, Wirch and Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Van Akkeren, Sinicki, Milroy, Berceau, Black, Pope-Roberts, Pasch, Young, Pocan, Turner and Grigsby.

March 02, 2010 Referred to Committee on Labor, Elections and Urban Affairs.

March 16, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Coggs, Wirch, Lehman, A. Lasee and

Grothman.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Spencer Coggs Senator
- Terry Van Akkeren Representative
- Danny McGowan Wisconsin Teamsters Joint Council 39
- Fred Gregare Teamsters Joint Council 39
- Kelly Maloney Teamsters Local 662
- Chad Peters Teamsters Locaol 662
- Tom Strickland Teamsters Local 662
- Tom Kamack Teamsters Local 344
- Patrick Puffer Teamsters Local 344
- Jim Dillon Teamsters Local 344
- Paul Brzezinski Teamsters Local 344
- Tom Millonzi Teamsters Local 200
- Ronald Falkowski
- Wesley Gable Teamsters Local 43
- Debra Christensen
- Christine Ballewske
- David Boetcher IBEW Wisconsin State Conference
- Dave Vandenberg
- Vangie Moreno International Brotherhood of Teamsters
- Gene Gowey Teamsters Local 695

Appearances Against

- John Metcalf Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce
- Jonathan Swain
- Tom Krukowski

Appearances for Information Only

• John Huebscher — Wisconsin Catholic Conference

Registrations For

- Susan McMurray AFSCME
- Steve Nelson Teamsters Local 200
- Mark Herrmann Teamsters
- David Reardon Teamsters
- Larry Wedan Teamsters
- Tony Conrnelius Teamsters Local 662
- Brian Zamercrik Teamsters
- Werner Holzwarth
- Robert Prinz Teamsters Local 200
- Rick Skutak Teamsters Local 662
- Dion Vancos Teamsters Local 662
- Rob Moss
- John Kaiser Teamsters Local 662
- Tim Wentz Teamsters Local 662
- Ron Froelich Teamsters
- Clark Commons Teamsters
- Brian Quandt Teamsters
- Mike Koziara Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees
- Anthony Dimond Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen
- Paul Aird Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen
- Steve Wilding Professional Firefighters of Wiscosnsin
- Mark Weissbrodt Teamsters Local 344
- Sharon Williams Teamsters Local 695
- John Baumann
- Steve Severson
- Beth Kirchman
- Sam Galle Workers United
- Thad Steinke IUOE Local 139
- William Firkus IOUE Local 139
- Lon Biornsend
- Josh Garner Sheet Metal Workers Local 18
- Brandon Day Ironworkers Local 8

- Chris Ignatowski UA Local 434
- Scott Arnold Operating Engineers Local 139
- Mark Gauf Operating Engineers
- Darren Rohde Operating Engineers Local 139
- Tony Vanderbloemen Greater Green Bay Labor Council
- Steve Buffalo IUOE 139
- Tim Goele IUOE 139
- Dan Schultz
- Shaun McHugh Operating Engineers Local 139
- Anthony Bog Operating Engineers
- Bob Peyer
- Randall Knox UFCW Local 1473
- Chad Whiteside
- Scott Spearo
- Peter Singler UFCW Local 1473
- Ike Edwards UFCW
- Cecilia Prickett UFCW Local 1473
- Mark Reihl Wisconsin State Council of Carpenters
- Joanne Ricca Wisconsin State AFL-CIO

Registrations Against

• Julaine Appling — Wiscosnin Family Action

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 8, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Coggs, Wirch, Lehman, A. Lasee and

Grothman.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Lehman, seconded by Senator Wirch that **Senate Bill 585** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (3) Senators Coggs, Wirch and Lehman.

Noes: (2) Senators A. Lasee and Grothman.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Adam Plotkin Committee Clerk