Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary, Corrections, Insurance, Campaign Finance Reform, and Housing

Senate Bill 51

Relating to: judicial discretion in certain John Doe proceedings and the provision of attorney representation of state employees at John Doe proceedings.

By Senators Kreitlow, Erpenbach, Taylor, Vinehout, Schultz, Hansen, Lehman, Holperin, Kapanke, Hopper and S. Fitzgerald; cosponsored by Representatives Hintz, Spanbauer, Townsend, Ballweg, Shilling, Van Roy, Kaufert, Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Garthwaite, Jorgensen, Sinicki and Friske.

February 11, 2009	Referred to Committee on Judiciary, Corrections, Insurance,
	Campaign Finance Reform, and Housing.

February 25, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(5)	Senators Taylor, Sullivan, Erpenbach,
		Grothman and Hopper.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Nancy Rottier, Madison Director of State Courts
- Scott Fitzgerald, Madison Senator, WI State Legislature
- Robert McLinn, Waupun
- Martin Beil, Madison WI State Employees Union
- Pat Kreitlow, Madison Senator, WI State Legislature
- Gordon Hintz, Madison Rep., WI State Legislature
- Todd Wetzel, Waupun AFSCME Local 178
- Richard Spanbauer, Madison Rep., WI State Legislature
- Gabe Umentum, Waupun AFSCME Local 18

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• William Pollard, Madison — Dept. of Corrections

Registrations For

- Jon Erpenbach, Madison Senator, Wisconsin State Senate
- Lena Taylor, Madison Senator, Wisconsin State Senate
- Jeff Fitzgerald, Madison Rep., WI State Legislature

- Kathleen Vinehout, Madison Senator, Wisconsin State Senate
- Susan McMurray AFSCME
- Dale Pierce, Fond du Lac
- Scott Spector, Madison AFT-WI
- DuWayne Dallman, Grand Marsh AFSCME Local 134
- Tom Hoile, Mauston AFSCME Local 134

Registrations Against

- Kevin St. John, Madison Department of Justice
- J.B. Van Hollen, Madison Attorney General, Department of Justice (DOJ)

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 17, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(5)	Senators Taylor, Sullivan, Erpenbach,
		Grothman and Hopper.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Moved by Senator Erpenbach, seconded by Senator Sullivan that **Senate Bill 51** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Senators Taylor, Sullivan, Erpenbach, Grothman and Hopper.Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Madu Enwemnwa Committee Clerk