Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Ethics Reform and Government Operations

Senate Bill 507

Relating to: changing the fees collected by a register of deeds, the redaction of social security numbers from electronic documents, and changes to the land information program.

By Senators Erpenbach, Lehman, Hansen, Kreitlow, Vinehout, Risser and Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Soletski, Hebl, Pope-Roberts, Smith, Lothian, Townsend, Vruwink, Dexter, Vos, Radcliffe and Van Roy.

February 02, 2010 Referred to Committee on Ethics Reform and Government Operations.

February 10, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Risser, Robson, Kreitlow, Ellis and A.

Lasee.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Jon Erpenbach Senator, 27th Senate District
- Cathy Williquette Brown County Register of Deeds
- Jim Soletski Representative, 88th Senate District
- Jeff Dumez Land Information Officers Network
- Martin Goetti Land Information Officers Network
- Bret Davies Land Information Officers Network
- Tom Larson Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Bruce Bowden WI County Surveyors Association
- Francis Thousand, Madison Wisconsin Society of Land Surveyors

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• David Mockert — Wisconsin Land Informaton Association

Registrations For

- Ted Kanavas Senator, 33rd Senate District
- Lisa Walker, Portage Wisconsin Register of Deeds Association
- Kristi Chlebowski Dane County Register of Deeds
- Cynthia Wisinski, Stevens Point Portage County Register of Deeds
- Mickey Beil Dane County
- David Callender Wisconsin Counties Association

- Michael Mazemka, Iola Wisconsin Register of Deeds Association
- Jayme Sellen, Green Bay Brown County
- Ellen Schleicher, Sheboygan Sheboygan County
- Melanie Huempfner, Marinette Marinette County Register of Deeds
- Loralee Lasley Oconto County

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• Michael Serpe — Door County Administrator

February 18, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Risser, Robson, Kreitlow, Ellis and A.

Lasee.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Risser, seconded by Senator Robson that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senators Risser, Robson, Kreitlow, Ellis and

A. Lasee.

Noes: (0) None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Risser, seconded by Senator Robson that **Senate Bill 507** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (5) Senators Risser, Robson, Kreitlow, Ellis and

A. Lasee.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Terry Tuschen Committee Clerk