# Senate

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Economic Development**

#### Senate Bill 409

Relating to: a postsecondary education tax credit for businesses; increasing annual limits on angel investment tax credits; awarding grants to the WiSys Technology Foundation, Inc.; business plan competitions and an emerging technology center in the University of Wisconsin System; rural outsourcing grants; requiring the Department of Commerce to award grants to a high-technology business development corporation and grants for converting manufacturing facilities; increasing funding for certain economic development programs; a pilot program providing microloans for the creation of new businesses; increasing funding for certain technical college training program grants; providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures; granting rule-making authority; and making appropriations.

By Senators Lassa, Kreitlow, Sullivan, Lehman, Vinehout, Jauch, Hansen, Holperin, Miller, Robson, Erpenbach, Risser, Plale, Decker, Taylor, Wirch, Carpenter and Coggs; cosponsored by Representatives Molepske Jr., Cullen, Zigmunt, Smith, Turner, Berceau, Zepnick, Vruwink, Dexter and Schneider.

November 20, 2009 Referred to Committee on Economic Development.

#### December 10, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow,

Kanavas, Darling and Leibham.

Absent: (0) None.

### Appearances For

- Julie Lassa Sen., 24th Senate District
- Louis Molepske, Jr. Rep., 71st Assembly District
- Barbara Lawton Lt. Gov., Office of Lieutenant Governor
- David Ward, Sturgeon Bay NorthStar Economics
- Bruce Siebold, Menomonie NorthStar
- Tom Still, Madison Wisconsin Technology Council
- Brian Taffora, Madison Wisconsin Business Council
- Brian Doudna, Eau Claire Wisconsin Economic Development Association
- Ron Kuehn, Madison BioForward
- Linda Templer, Milwaukee Energy Composites Corporation
- Malyakal John WiSys Technology Foundation
- Andrew Cohn, Madison Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation

- Joe Gow Chancellor, University of Wisconsin LaCrosse
- Kathleen Enzfinken, LaCrosse Provost, UW-LaCrosse
- Timothy Lyden, Spring Valley Dr., University of Wisconsin River Falls
- Darrel Burnett, Green Bay VeriPure, Inc.
- Ronald Gayhart, Whitewater UW-Whitewater

## Appearances Against

• None.

# **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Jeff Plale Senator, 7th Senate District
- Sunil Krishnan, Franklin NAMBTECH
- Deven McGlenn, Madison BioForward
- James Buchen, Madison Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce
- Amy Boyer, Madison Wisconsin Economic Development Association
- Charlie Hoslet UW Madison Office of Corporate Relations
- Jessica Tormey UW System Board of Regents
- Thomas Miller UW-Stevens Point
- Bill Smith, Madison National Federation of Independent Business

# **Registrations Against**

• None.

# Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## December 15, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow,

Kanavas, Darling and Leibham.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Vinehout, seconded by Senator Lehman that **Senate Substitute Amendment 0209** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow,

Kanavas, Darling and Leibham.

Noes: (0) None.

# INTRODUCTION OF SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 0209 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Leibham, seconded by Senator Darling that **Senate Amendment 1211** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (3) Senators Kanavas, Darling and Leibham.

Noes: (4) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout and Kreitlow.

INTRODUCTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 1211 NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 4

Moved by Senator Leibham, seconded by Senator Darling that **Senate Amendment 1222** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (3) Senators Kanavas, Darling and Leibham.

Noes: (4) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout and Kreitlow

INTRODUCTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 1222 NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 4

Moved by Senator Leibham, seconded by Senator Darling that **Senate Amendment 1223** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (3) Senators Kanavas, Darling and Leibham.

Noes: (4) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout and Kreitlow.

INTRODUCTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 1223 NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 4

Moved by Senator Lehman, seconded by Senator Vinehout that **Senate Substitute Amendment 0209** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow, Kanavas, Darling and Leibham.

Noes: (0) None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 0209 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Vinehout, seconded by Senator Lehman that **Senate Bill 409** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow, Kanavas, Darling and Leibham.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Mark Knickelbine Committee Clerk