Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Economic Development

Senate Bill 399

Relating to: authorizing two or more cities, villages, towns, or counties, or a combination of such political subdivisions, to create a commission to issue conduit revenue bonds and exercise eminent domain authority and exempting from taxation interest on such bonds.

By Senators Kreitlow, Plale, Hopper, Darling, Taylor, Schultz, Hansen, Olsen and Vinehout; cosponsored by Representatives Seidel, Hilgenberg, Dexter, Fields, Berceau, Jorgensen, Petrowski, Smith, Staskunas, Benedict, Hintz and Hraychuck.

January 25, 2010 Referred to Committee on Economic Development.

February 10, 2010 PU

PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow, Kanavas, Darling and Leibham.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Pat Kreitlow Sen., 23rd Senate District
- Andy Phillips Wisconsin Counties Association
- Dan Thompson, Madison League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Mark O'Connell Wisconsin Counties Association
- James Hamill US Communities
- Mike LaPierre US Communities
- Barbara Petkovsek, Friendship Adams County
- Lance Pliml, Wisconsin Rapids Wood County
- Brent Miller, Montello Marquette County
- Adam Payne Sheboygan County
- Jim Mortensen, Plainfield Riley Hatch
- John West, Friendship Adams-Colombia Electric Cooperative
- Mike Kaminski, Wisconsin Dells Chula Vista Resort
- Dave Eckman Marathon County/Wausau Chamber of Commerce

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Craig Thompson, Madison Transportation Development Association of Wisconsin
- Chris Gunst WHEDA

Registrations For

- Jeff Plale Senator, Seventh Senate District
- Donna Seidel Rep., 85th Assembly District
- Dick Koeppen, Clintonville Waupaca County Board Chair
- Harlan Baumgartner, Rio Town of Otsego/Columbia County
- Paul Wade, Endeavor Marquette County
- Pat Goss, Madison Wisconsin Transportation Builders Association
- Tom Hinz, Green Bay Brown County Executive
- Steve Rasmussen, Boyceville Dunn County Board Chair
- R. Lussow, Tomahawk Lincoln County
- Anne Strauch, Appleton Outagamie County
- Mark Cronce, Mequon Ozaukee County
- Jim Pleuss, Grand Chute Outagamie County/Grand Chute Town Board Supervisor
- Michael Norton, Oshkosh Winnebago County
- Charlene Brady, Germantown Washington County
- John Potcle, Potosi Grant County
- Sandra Kraft, Edgerton Dist. 3 Rock County
- Tom Widepen, Neenah Winnebago County
- Larry Wolf, Lancaster
- Ron Korzeniewski, Krakow Oconto County
- Kevin Hamann, Oconto Oconto County
- Janice Swoboda, Luxemburg Kewaunee County
- Charles Haywick, Neillsville Clark County
- Wayne Hendrickson, Unity Clark County
- Jess Mille, Rice Lake Barron County
- Jerry Finch, Neenah
- Kathleen Rushlow, Eagle River Vilas County
- George Bousley, Niagara Mayor, City of Niagara
- Linda Sinkula, Kewaunee Kewaunee County
- Ron De Bruyne, Arbor Vitae Vilas County Board of Supervisors
- Kaye Shillin, Kewaunee Kewaunee County
- Steve O'Malley, La Crosse LaCrosse County
- Tom Lauchrin, Hilbert Calument County
- Marge Bostelmann, Green Lake Green Lake County
- Dennis Eberhardt, Black River Falls Jackson County
- Bruce Heidmann, Algoma Kewaunee County

- Marshal Giese, Gresham Shawno County
- Charles Wagner, Luxemburg Kewaunee County
- James Loughrin, New London Waupaca County
- Marty Krueger, Baraboo Sauk County
- John Penney, Waupaca Waupaca County
- Tom Tallier, Wabeno Forest County
- Randy Tatur, Rice Lake Rusk County
- Debra Wopat, Rio Columbia County
- Daniel Fedderly, Boyceville Dunn County Board
- Mark Abeles-Allison, Washburn Bayfield County
- Michael Serpe, Sturgeon Bay Door County
- Keith Langenhan, Marathon Marathon County
- Margaret Wood, La Crosse La Crosse County
- Ron Chamberlain, Adams Adams County Highway Department
- Don Quinton, Spooner Washburn County
- Erhard Huettl, Wabeno Forest County Board Chairman
- William Cledenning, Wisconsin Rapids Wood County
- Barb Semb, Whitehall Tremplealeau County Board Chair
- Donna Seddon, Montello Marquette County
- Steve Favorite, Eagle River Vilas County Board
- Jim Brey, Manitowoc Manitowoc County
- Alice Connors, Chilton Calument County Vice Chairman
- Phyllis Benz, Luxemburg Kewaunee County
- Ron Corn, Keshena Menominee County
- Mike Keefe, Shell Lake Washburn County
- John Blahnik, Washburn Bayfield County
- John Tramburg, Fall River Columbia County
- Andy Ross, Poynette Columbia County
- Jill Billings, La Crosse
- Michael Vandersteen, Sheboygan Sheboygan County
- Dan Priske, Green Lake Green Lake County
- Marilyn Schuh, Brillion Calument County Supervisor

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 25, 2010 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow, Kanavas, Darling and Leibham.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Kreitlow, seconded by Senator Kanavas that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(7)	Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow,
		Kanavas, Darling and Leibham.
Noes:	(0)	None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 2 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Kreitlow, seconded by Senator Darling that **Senate Bill 399** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes:	(7)	Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow,
		Kanavas, Darling and Leibham.
Noes:	(0)	None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Mark Knickelbine Committee Clerk