# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Health and Healthcare Reform

#### Senate Bill 389

Relating to: licensing sign language interpreters, creating an evidentiary privilege for communications with those interpreters, creating a Sign Language Interpreter Council, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Senators Kedzie, Lazich, Olsen and Carpenter; cosponsored by Representatives Lothian and Townsend.

February 24, 2010 Referred to Committee on Health and Healthcare Reform.

#### March 3, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Shilling, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone, Strachota and Nygren.

Absent: (1) Representative Vruwink.

# Appearances For

- Neal Kedzie Senator, 11th Senate District
- Mary Lazich Senator, 28th Senate District
- Joel Mankowski, Greenfield Statewide Task Force on Interpreters Licensure
- Joseph Riggio, Madison Wisconsin Association of the Deaf
- Jenny Buechner, Madison Wisconsin Association of the Deaf
- Christopher Woodfill, Delavan Wisconsin Association of the Deaf
- Jason Altmann, Lake Mills
- Faye Peters, Appleton
- Dan Houlihan, Milwaukee
- Amber Mullett, Madison
- Colleen Keating, Sharon
- Leslie DeMeyer, Cudahy
- Steve Smart, Waukesha
- Roger Claussen, Fontana
- Leonard Peacock, Delavan Wisconsin Association of the Deaf
- John Fletcher, Milwaukee
- David Letkiewicz, Germantown

#### Appearances Against

- Helen Grebel, Mayville CESA 6
- Bob Kellogg, Oconto Falls CESA 8

## Appearances for Information Only

 Hector Colon, Madison — Department of Regulation and Licensing

## **Registrations For**

- Andrea Jones, Milwaukee
- Sarah Fischbach, Middleton
- Alicia Boehme, Madison Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Britta Hegge, Evansville
- Eric Nooker, Madison
- Kate Skarda, Madison
- Amy Free, Madison
- Wendy Wiatrowski, Germantown
- Tom Lothian Representative, 32nd Assembly District
- John Hendrick, Madison Coalition of Wisconsin Aging Groups
- Tammy Krebs, Clinton
- Alice Sykora, Madison
- John Forester, Madison
- Lee Krebs, Clinton
- Denise Pulfer, Madison
- Cassandra Ratkowski, Greenfield
- Michael Maffucci, Oconomowoc
- Nicole Mueller, New Berlin
- Joy Anncee, Delavan
- Milton Lee, Delavan
- Lamont Klecot, Burlington
- Stephanie Zito, Milwaukee
- Dean Kelly, Darien
- Betty Kelly, Darien
- Guy Kelly, Darien
- Casey Kelly, Darien
- Jason Glozier, Madison
- Melissa Armstrong, Milwaukee
- Theresa Schmechel, Germantown
- Kimberly Venerwielen, Milwaukee
- Elizabeth Shaw, Milwaukee
- Andrea Rawski, West Allis
- Meredy Hase, Wales Wisconsin Speech-Language and Audiology Professionals Association

- Scott Spector, Madison AFT- Wisconsin
- Shannon Aylesworth, West Bend
- Chantel Young, Rubicon

## Registrations Against

• Thomas Preusker, Burlington

#### Registrations for Information Only

None.

#### March 31, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Strachota and Nygren.

Absent: (1) Representative Stone.

Moved by Representative Nygren, seconded by Representative Vukmir that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Roys, Vukmir, Strachota and Nygren.

Noes: (7) Representatives Richards, Benedict, Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch and Bernard Schaber.

Absent: (2) Representatives Rhoades and Stone.

# ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Nygren, seconded by Representative Vukmir that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Roys, Vukmir, Strachota and Nygren.

Noes: (7) Representatives Richards, Benedict, Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch and Bernard Schaber.

Absent: (2) Representatives Rhoades and Stone.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Pasch, seconded by Representative Bernard Schaber that **Senate Bill 389** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Rhoades, Strachota.

Noes: (2) Representatives Vukmir and Nygren.

Absent: (1) Representative Stone.

CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 2

Jeff Kostelic Committee Clerk