Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Children and Families and Workforce Development

Senate Bill 288

Relating to: Indian child welfare.

By Senators Jauch, Holperin, Vinehout, Coggs, Taylor, Lassa, Kreitlow, Lehman, Hansen, Robson, Risser, Plale, Erpenbach, S. Fitzgerald, Grothman, Olsen, Hopper and Schultz; cosponsored by Representatives Hraychuck, Sherman, Grigsby, Roys, Pasch, Young, Berceau, Sinicki, Pope-Roberts, Seidel, Turner, Benedict, Hilgenberg, Shilling, Hubler, Clark, Mason, Nelson, Radcliffe, Soletski, Vruwink, Smith, Sheridan, Mursau, Roth, Kleefisch, Friske, Tauchen, Huebsch, Vos, Brooks and Ripp.

September 14, 2009 Referred to Committee on Children and Families and Workforce Development.

September 16, 2009

PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (5) Senators Jauch, Lassa, Vinehout, Kedzie and Hopper.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Bob Jauch Senator, Senate District 25
- Ann Hraychuck Representative, 28th Assembly District
- Reggie Bicha, Madison Secretary, Department of Children and Families
- Gary Sherman Representative
- Wilfrid Cleveland, Black River Falls President, Ho-Chunk Nation
- Gregory Miller, Bowler Stockbridge-Munsee Tribe
- Eugene White-Fish FC Potawatomi Community
- Lewis Taylor St. Croix Band of Superior Chippewa
- Brandon Stevens Oneida Business Committee
- Lisa Waukau Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin
- Mark Tilden Native American Rights Fund
- William Thorne Judge
- James Botsford, Wausau Wisconsin Judicare
- Ginger Murray, Madison Children and the Law Section of the State Bar of Wisconsin and Lawton and Cates
- Carolyn Grzelak St. Croix Band
- Dennis Puzz, Jr., Minneapolic Forest County Potawatomi
- Kris Goodwill, Black River Falls Ho-Chunk Nation
- Elizabeth Haller, Neillsville
- Stephanie Lozano, Black River Falls Ho-Chunk
- Sandy White Hawk

- Todd Matha Judge, Ho-Chunk Tribal Court
- Mark Mitchell, Madison Department of Children and Families
- Mary Husby, Keshena, Menominee Indian Tribe
- Rob Orcutt Oneida Nations
- Paul Stenzel, Shorewood
- Cyrus Behroozi, Madison DCF Division of Safety and Permanence

Appearances Against

- Stephen Hayes, Waukesha
- Joan Korb, Sturgeon Bay Wisconsin District Attorneys Association
- Rachael Cook, Fond du Lac
- Greta Sclavi, Fond du Lac

Appearances for Information Only

- Ryan Sclavi, Madison
- Christopher Dee, Milwaukee Milwaukee County DA's Office

Registrations For

- Scott Fitzgerald Senator
- Jeff Mursau, Crivitz Representative, 36th Assembly District
- Roger Roth Representative
- Jeff Plale Senator
- Leland Ninham, Oneida WTJA
- Forest County Potawatomi, Madison
- Susan Crazy Thunder, Bayfield Rose Gurnoe-Soulier--Chair Red Cliff Band
- Kitty Kocol Executive Director, Wisconsin Court Appointed Special Advocates
- Karen Martin, Madison Ho-Chunk Nation Department of Health and Social Services
- Roberta Decorah, Tomah
- Dale Powless
- Cheryl Powless

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present: (5) Senators Jauch, Lassa, Vinehout, Kedzie and Hopper.

October 7, 2009

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Jauch, seconded by Senator Vinehout that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senators Jauch, Lassa, Vinehout, Kedzie and Hopper.Noes: (0) None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Jauch, seconded by Senator Vinehout that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(5)	Senators Jauch, Lassa, Vinehout, Kedzie and
		Hopper.
Noes:	(0)	None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 2 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Jauch, seconded by Senator Vinehout that **Senate Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (5) Senators Jauch, Lassa, Vinehout, Kedzie and Hopper.
- Noes: (0) None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 3 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Lassa, seconded by Senator Vinehout that **Senate Bill 288** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (5) Senators Jauch, Lassa, Vinehout, Kedzie and Hopper.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Carrie Kahn Committee Clerk