Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary, Corrections, Insurance, Campaign Finance Reform, and Housing

Senate Bill 259

Relating to: the homestead exemption and increases in the value of the exemption for various property that is exempt from execution.

By Senators Taylor, Lehman, Miller, Vinehout, Robson, Lassa, Holperin and Risser; cosponsored by Representatives Hebl, Sherman, Roys, Berceau, Clark, Pope-Roberts, Richards, Turner, Molepske Jr., Smith, Hintz, Grigsby, Hilgenberg, Hixson, Kessler and Dexter.

August 11, 2009Referred to Committee on Judiciary, Corrections, Insurance,
Campaign Finance Reform, and Housing.

September 23, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(5)	Senators Taylor, Sullivan, Erpenbach,
		Grothman and Hopper.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Gary Hebl Representative, 46th Assembly District
- Claire Ann Resop Attorney, State Bar of Wisconsin
- Cale Battles State Bar of Wisconsin
- Robert Andersen Attorney, Legal Action of Wisconsin

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Lena Taylor, Madison Senator, Wisconsin State Senate
- Tom Larson, Madison Mr., Wisconsin Realtors Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 6, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Taylor, Sullivan, Erpenbach, Grothman and Hopper. Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Taylor, seconded by Senator Sullivan that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(5)	Senators Taylor, Sullivan, Erpenbach,
		Grothman and Hopper.
Noes:	(0)	None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 2 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Taylor, seconded by Senator Sullivan that **Senate Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(5)	Senators Taylor, Sullivan, Erpenbach,
		Grothman and Hopper.
Noes:	(0)	None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 3 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Taylor, seconded by Senator Sullivan that **Senate Bill 259** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (4) Senators Taylor, Sullivan, Erpenbach and Hopper.
- Noes: (1) Senator Grothman.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Eric Peterson Committee Clerk