# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## Committee on Fish and Wildlife

#### **Senate Bill 222**

Relating to: group deer hunting requirements and restrictions on placing, possessing, or transporting a firearm, bow, or crossbow in or on a vehicle.

By Senators Decker, Holperin, Hansen, Hopper, Taylor and Grothman; cosponsored by Representatives Jorgensen, Petrowski, Spanbauer, Zigmunt and Suder.

February 24, 2010 Referred to Committee on Fish and Wildlife.

## March 31, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (9) Representatives Hraychuck, Milroy, Molepske Jr., Steinbrink, Danou, Vruwink, Gunderson, M. Williams and J. Ott.

Absent: (1) Representative Meyer.

### Appearances For

- Carl Schoettel, Neosho WI Bear Hunters Association
- Jeff Nass, Pulaski WI Firearms Owners Ranges Clubs & Educators (WI-FORCE)
- Bob Welch, Madison Hunters Rights Coalition
- Russ Decker, Wausau Sen., 29th Senate District
- Dan Trowicki, Waukesha Sheriff, Waukesha County Sheriff
- Greg Kazmierski, Waukesha Hunters Rights Coalition
- Peter Jungbluth, Greenfield
- Dean Hamilton, Waunakee
- Jeff Perlewitz, Waukesha

### **Appearances Against**

- Tim Lawhern, Madison WI DNR Hunter Education
- Ralph Fritsch, Townsend WI Wildlife Federation
- Bill Meloy, Saukville Saukville Police Department
- Jim Onarheim, Hayward
- Tom Thornton, Grandview
- Susan Miller, Hayward Local 1215 Conservation Warden
- Matt MacKenzie, Ashland Local 1215 Conservation Warden
- Harold Weinke, Reedsburg Sauk County Sheriff's Department
- Jim Arts, Green Bay Chief, Green Bay Police Department

- Randy Stark, Madison Chief Warden, WI Dept. of Natural Resources
- Thomas Hansen, Green Bay

### **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Jim Palmer, Madison WI Professional Police Association
- Gary Goyke, Madison WI Game Preserve Association
- Jeff Geitner, Sun Prairie WI Hunters United
- Jolene Plautz, Madison U.S. Sportsmen's Alliance
- Gregg Brzezinski, Allenton WI Bear Hunters Association (Board member)
- Andy Jorgensen, Fort Atkinson Rep., 37th Assembly District

#### Registrations Against

- Edward McC ann, La Crosse Local 1215 Conservation Wardens
- Henry Bauman, West Salem
- Paul Nadolski, Pardeeville
- Tice Schartne, Drummond Local 1215 Conservation Wardens
- Lauri Steeber Lt., WI State Patrol
- Jeff Nania, Portage WI Waterfowl Association
- George Meyer, Madison Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Jerry Knuth, Plover WI Wildlife Federation
- Virgil Schroeder, Cottage Grove WI Trappers Association
- Don Hammes, Middleton Dane County Conservation League
- Jeff Dauterman, Antigo
- Mitch Groenley, Dousman
- John Windt
- Susan McMurry, Madison AFSCME
- Carolyn Kaiser, Elk Mound
- Bill Schmit, Stevens Point
- William Miller, Friendship
- Wade Romberg, Friendship
- Jon King, Belleville

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

Stephanie Hilton Committee Clerk