## **Senate**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Health, Health Insurance, Privacy, Property Tax Relief, and Revenue

#### Senate Bill 191

Relating to: podiatrist-patient privilege, immunity exemption for podiatrists providing emergency care at athletic events, allowing podiatrists to determine an illness or injury and complete forms for the purpose of granting assistance to needy veterans, allowing podiatrists to determine disability for the purpose of issuing certain hunting permits, cooperatives organized to provide sickness care, the Podiatrists Affiliated Credentialing Board, allowing podiatrists to certify driver school instructors' physical fitness, allowing Medical Assistance recipients to freely choose among podiatrists, and giving equal weight to certifications of disability by podiatrists for insurance purposes.

By Senators Lehman, Taylor, Plale, Schultz, Wirch and Holperin; cosponsored by Representatives Barca, Zigmunt, Benedict, Turner, Kerkman, Steinbrink, Friske, Mason, Townsend, Zepnick, Ballweg, Berceau and Petrowski.

May 07, 2009

Referred to Committee on Health, Health Insurance, Privacy, Property Tax Relief, and Revenue.

#### August 18, 2009

#### PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (6) Senators Erpenbach, Carpenter, Robson, Lassa,

Lazich and Darling.

Absent: (1) Senator Kanavas.

### Appearances For

- John Lehman, Racine WI State Senate 21st District
- Ian Furness, Fond du lac Podiatire Affiliated Credentialing Board
- Matt Egger, Madison Rep. Peter Barca, WI State Assembly 64th District
- Jay Ferus, Madison Rep. Ted Zigmunt WI State Assembly
  2nd District
- Tony Driesen, Madison WI Society of Podiatric Medicine

## Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• Mark Grapentine, Madison — WI Medical Society

#### Registrations For

• Jason Johns, Madison — VFW of Wisconsin

## Registrations Against

• None.

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## September 17, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Erpenbach, Carpenter, Robson, Lassa,

Lazich, Kanavas and Darling.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Carpenter, seconded by Senator Robson that **Senate Bill 191** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (7) Senators Erpenbach, Carpenter, Robson,

Lassa, Lazich, Kanavas and Darling.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Tryg Knutson Committee Clerk