Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation, Tourism, Forestry, and Natural Resources

Senate Bill 113

Relating to: the appointment and term of service of the secretary of natural resources and vacancies on the Natural Resources Board.

By Senators Wirch, Cowles, Lehman, Carpenter, Lassa, Holperin, Hansen, Vinehout, Sullivan, Taylor, Robson, Coggs, Schultz, Leibham, Erpenbach and Risser; cosponsored by Representatives Black, Kaufert, Hubler, Sherman, Van Akkeren, Turner, Mason, Berceau, Parisi, Hebl, Danou, Benedict, Bies, Van Roy, Davis, Soletski, Schneider, Brooks, Pope-Roberts, Hilgenberg, Zepnick, Bernard Schaber, Kestell, Mursau, Pasch, Molepske Jr., Pocan, Seidel, Young, Toles, Jorgensen, Roys, Krusick, Barca, Smith, Roth, Tauchen, Grigsby, Hixson, Spanbauer, Sinicki, Suder, Lothian, Vruwink, Clark, Richards, Nerison, Hraychuck, Shilling, Garthwaite and Zigmunt.

March 13, 2009 Referred to Committee on Transportation, Tourism, Forestry, and Natural Resources.

August 13, 2009 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (0) None. Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Bob Wirch 22 Senate District
- Spencer Black, Madison 77th Assembly District
- Barb Lawton, Madison Lieutenant Governor
- Robert Haase, Eldorado Musky Clubs Alliance of Wisconsin
- Ruth Johnson, Juneau
- Bob Haase, Eldorado Musky Club Alliance of Wisconsin
- Jennifer Giegerich, Madison Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Tom Thoresen, Fitchburg Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Jeff Nania, Portage Wisconsin Waterfowl Association
- Marc Schultz, Onalaska LaCrosse County Conservation Alliance
- Michael Arrowood, Oakfield Walleyes For Tomorrow
- Jack Nissen, Dousman Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- George Meyer, Madison Wisconsin Wildlife Association

- Bob Martini, Rhinelander
- Richard Wedepohl, Madison North American Lake Management Society
- Mike MacKenzie, Boulder Junction
- Rebecca Haefner, Wauwatosa
- James Gleash, Madison Wisconsin Association of Field Trial Clubs
- Matt MacKenzie, Ashland AFSCME Local 1215
- Edward Frank Wisconsin Chapter of the Wildlife Society
- Rick Prosise, Madison
- Susan Miller, Hayward Conservation Warden Local 1215
- Dean Gullickson, Chippewa Falls Chippewa Valley Outdoor Resource Alliance
- Don Hammes, Middleton Dane County Conservation League
- Bill Rowe, Madison
- Larry Vanderhoef, Plainfield Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Lyle Nauman, Custer Izaak Walton League
- Gerald Ernst, Plover Izaak Walton League of America
- Arnold Harris, Mount Horeb Western Dane Coalition for Smart Growth & Environment
- James Kerler, Lake Mills
- Perry Pierre, Seymour Shadows on the Wolf

Appearances Against

- Matt Frank WI DNR Secretary
- Brad Boycks, Madison Wisconsin Builders Association
- Scott Manley, Madison Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce

Appearances for Information Only

None

Registrations For

- Lori Grant, Madison River Alliance of Wisconsin
- Al Phelan, Madison
- Gary Eddy, Madison WI DNR
- Patricia Hurckman, Randolph Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Betty Borchert, Oshkosh Winnebago Conservation Club
- George Borchert, Oshkosh Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Charlie Higley, Madison Citizens Utility Board
- Dick Koerner, Neenah
- Bill Bulesyh, Neenah

- Darrel Eberhardt, Hixon Wisconsin Woodland Owners Association
- Ted Lind, Milwaukee Wisconsin Council of Sport Fishing Organization
- Gary Steffen, Madison
- Scott Spector, Madison AFT- Wisconsin
- Christa Peters, Madison AFT-Wisconsin
- Allison Pedersen Midwest Environmental Advocates
- Daniel Carroll, Mauston Conservation Congress
- Scott Zimmerman, Reeseville Conservation Congress
- Scott McAvkey, Wisconsin Rapids
- George Bartels, Wisconsin Rapids
- Eric Uram, Madison Sierra Club
- Harold Drake, Juneau Dodge County Sporting/Conservation Alliance
- Sherman Jacobson, Van Dyne Winnebago Land Conservation Alliance
- Cyrus Post, LaCrosse Coulee Region Trout Unlimited
- Carolyn Brown, Milton Wisconsin Muzzle Loaders
- Russ Brunner, Eagle Triangle Sportsman Club
- Brittany Roberts, Portage WWA
- Ralph Fritsch, Townsend Outagamie Conservation Club
- Virgil Schroeder, Cottage Grove Wisconsin Trappers Association
- Herbert Behnke, Shawano
- Jim Boullion Association of General Contractors-Wisconsin
- Joe Murray, Madison Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Jim March, LaCrosse
- Linda Meyer, Sun Prairie Association of Retired Conservationists
- John Gremmer, Winneconne Trout Unlimited
- Don Camplin, Waukesha Waukesha County Conservaiton Alliance
- Ed Brost, Madison
- Peter Ziegler, Slinger Wisconsin Waterfowl Association
- Peter Maldonado, Madison
- Allan Nordstrom, Marathon
- Larry Boude, Kiel Manitowoc County Fish and Game
- Nolan Pope, Madison Madison Audubon Society
- Jim Connors, Madison Sierra Club
- Tami Jackson, Madison Wisconsin Association of Lakes
- Karen Hale, Madison Wisconsin Audubon Council
- Scott Suder 69th Assembly District

- Anne Sayers, Madison Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Marena Kehl, Monona
- Ann Hraychuck, Balsam Lake 28th Assembly District
- Jayne Meyor, Madison Conservation Congress
- Jocelyn Meyer, Madison
- Erin O'Brien, Madison Wisconsin Wetlands Association
- Dave Steffenson, Madison Wisconsin Interfaith Climate & Energy Campaign
- Stefi Harris Western Dane Coalition
- Kerry Schumann, Madison
- Jim Shurts, Madison Wisconsin Conservation Congress
- Robbe Brooks, Cascade Wisconsin Association of Sporting Dog Clubs
- Amber Meyer-Smith, Madison Clean Wisconsin
- Christine Sinicki, Madison 20th Assembly District
- Lawrence Landwehr, Middleton
- Eileen Breitweiser, Middleton
- Susan Felker-Donsing, Madison
- Peter McKeever, Madison Garvey Mc& Associates
- Lisa Conley, Oconomowoc Rock River Coalition
- Eugene Roark, Madison Wisconsin Woodland Owners Association
- Charles Weier, Two Rivers Wisconsin Federation of Great Lakes Sport Fishing Clubs
- Eshter Huntoon, Brookland
- James Huntoon, Brookland
- William Rice, Whitefish Bay
- John Bloom, Lake Tomahawk
- Ruth Sproull, Rhinelander
- Ken Kenworthy, Tomahawk
- John Lyon, Three Lakes
- Michael Jones, Oconomowoc
- Mike Stapleton, Pardeeville
- Paul Baerwald, Milwaukee
- Robert Klokner, Randolph
- Jim Banks, Marshfield
- Bruce Rashke, Madison
- Patrick McCutcheon, Madison
- Willard Kiefer, Lake Nebagamon
- Sara Rice, Whitefish Bay
- Ron Brewster, New Auburn
- Ralph Bellore, Chippewa Falls
- Bill DeVries, Cable

- Judy Renquist, Racine
- Don Rahn, Cecil
- Neal Sanders, Menomonee Falls
- Tim Carpenter, Madison 3rd Assembly District

Registrations Against

- Amy Boyer, Madison Wisconsin Association of Convention & Visitor Bureaus
- Pat Osborne, Madison Aggregate Producers of Wisconsin

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

September 3, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Holperin, Sullivan, Plale, Hansen,

Leibham, Kedzie and Grothman.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Sullivan, seconded by Senator Hansen that **Senate Bill 113** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Senators Holperin, Sullivan, Plale, Hansen

and Leibham.

Noes: (2) Senators Kedzie and Grothman.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 2

Elizabeth Novak Committee Clerk