Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 109

Relating to: commencement of the school term in public schools.

By Senators Lehman, Taylor, Lazich, Miller, Risser, Vinehout and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter, Nass, Berceau, Black, Danou, Hebl, Hilgenberg, Hraychuck, Pasch, Sinicki, Smith, Soletski, Toles, Vruwink and Wood.

March 11, 2009 Referred to Committee on Education.

April 2, 2009 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (6) Senators Lehman, Jauch, Erpenbach, Hansen,

Grothman and Hopper.

Absent: (1) Senator Olsen.

Appearances For

- John Lehman, Racine Sen., 21st Senate District
- Sondy Pope-Roberts, Middleton Rep., 79th Assembly District
- Barb Van Deirzen, West De Pere West De Pere School District
- John Zegers, De Pere West De Pere School District
- Mike Richie, Eagle River Northland Pines School District
- Bob Avery, Dane School District of Somerset
- Michelle Schaefer, Rib Mountain Wausau School District
- Sara McNamara, Lancaster Lancaster Community Schools
- Thomas Hughey, Lancaster Lancaster Community Schools
- Greg Stewart, Whitewater WEAC

Appearances Against

- Jim Holperin, Conover Sen., 12th Senate District
- Ed Lump, Madison Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Tom Diehl, Wisconsin Dells Tommy Bartlett Corp.
- Mary Rawley, Green Lake Goose Blind Restaurant
- Todd Winkler, Middleton Wisconsin Hotel Group
- Eric Rottier, Madison The North Central Group
- Julie Noskowiak, Sun Prairie
- Lisa Blair, Sun Prairie

- Michael Schmal, Fond du Lac Fond du Lac Convention and Visitors Bureau
- Jean Winkler, Fond du Lac WISCO Hotel Group
- Kathi Kilgore, Madison Wisconsin Association of Campground Owners
- Dave Schneider, Pardeeville Indian Trails Campground
- Dave Blank, Sturtevant Wisconsin Association of Convention and Visitors Bureaus
- Trisha Pugal, Brookfield Wisconsin Innkeepers Association
- Joe Klimczak, Blue Mounds Cave of the Mounds
- Chet Gerlach, Madison Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions

Appearances for Information Only

 Kelli Trumble, Madison — Sec., Wisconsin Department of Tourism

Registrations For

- Joe Quick, Madison Madison Metropolitan School District
- Scott Spector, Madison AFT-Wisconsin
- Donna Haugen, Monticello
- Sheri Krause, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Jim Holperin, Conover Sen., 12th Senate District
- Chris Thiel, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools

Registrations Against

- Deb Archer, Madison Greater Madison Convention and Visitors Bureau
- Janet Swandby, Madison Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin
- Pam Christensen, Madison Wisconsin Petroleum Marketers and C-Store Association
- Michelle Kussow, Madison Wisconsin Grocers Association
- Bill Smith, Madison National Federation of Independent Business
- Julia Hertel, Sun Prairie Wisconsin Association of Convention and Visitors Bureaus
- Jason Johns, Madison National Association of Theater Owners

Registrations for Information Only

None.

Sara Dauscher Committee Clerk