Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor

Assembly Bill 929

Relating to: willful misclassification of an employee as a nonemployee by a person engaged in the painting or drywall finishing of buildings or other structures with intent to evade the laws related to income tax withholding, worker's compensation, unemployment insurance, or employment discrimination and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Pocan and Sinicki; cosponsored by Senators Risser and Lassa.

April 06, 2010 Referred to Committee on Labor.

April 7, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(6)	Representatives Sinicki, Jorgensen, Parisi,
		Toles, Soletski and Nass.
Excused:	(3)	Representatives Van Akkeren, Honadel and Knodl
		NIIOUI.

Appearances For:

- Mark Pocan, Madison Rep., 78th District, Wisc. State Assembly
- Jeff Merhoff, West Bend Organizer, Int'l Union of Painters & Allied Trades, Dist. Cncl. # 7
- James Macejkovic, Milwaukee Building Service, Inc.
- Gerald Rintamakzi, Burlington Int'l Union of Painters & Allied Trades, Dist. Cncl. # 7

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For:

- Christine Sinicki, Madison Rep, 20th District, WI State Assembly
- Jeffrey Arnold, Waukesha IUPAT Dist. Cncl. #7
- Kris Benish, Madison NCSRCC

- Tom Benish, Middleton Carpenenters' Union
- James Greer, Cottage Grove
- Ron Hanko, McFarland
- John Jorgensen, Wauwatosa Painters Union
- Scott Watson, Madison
- Phil Neuenfeldt, Milwaukee WI State AFL-CIO
- Brian Mitchell, Oconomowoc Associated Gen'l Contractors of Greater Milwaukee
- David Boetcher, Waunakee IBEW WI State Conference

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 13, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(8)	Representatives Sinicki, Van Akkeren,
		Jorgensen, Parisi, Toles, Soletski, Honadel and
		Knodl.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Nass.

Moved by Representative Van Akkeren, seconded by Representative Jorgensen that **Assembly Bill 929** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes:(8)Representatives Sinicki, Van Akkeren,
Jorgensen, Parisi, Toles, Soletski, Honadel
and Knodl.Noes:(0)None.
- Excused:(1) Representative Nass.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED: Ayes 8, Noes 0

Mary Beth George Committee Clerk