Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Elections and Campaign Reform

Assembly Bill 895

Relating to: various changes in election laws, granting rule-making authority, and providing penalties.

By Representatives Smith, Parisi, Young, Kessler, Roys, Soletski, A. Williams, Sheridan, Nelson, Pocan, Hilgenberg, Berceau, Hubler, Dexter, Bernard Schaber, Vruwink, Pasch, Black, Milroy, Grigsby, Pope-Roberts and Zepnick; cosponsored by Senators Coggs, Hansen, Wirch, Kreitlow, Holperin and Taylor.

March 24, 2010 Referred to Committee on Elections and Campaign Reform.

March 31, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (7) Representatives Smith, Soletski, Kessler, A.

Williams, Roys, Pridemore and Roth.

Absent: (1) Representative Stone.

Appearances For

- Jeff Smith, Eau Claire Representative, 93rd Assembly District
- Spencer Coggs, Milwaukee Senator, 6th Senate District
- Joe Parisi, Madison Representative, 48th Assembly District
- Nat Robinson, Madison Government Accountability Board
- Shane Falk, Madison Government Accountability Board
- Scot Ross, Madison One WI Now
- Robert Kraig, Milwaukee Citizin Action of Wisconsin
- Alicia Boehme, Madison Disability Rights of WI

Appearances Against

- Deborah Ann Speckman, Madison
- Oriannah Paul, Oostburg Sheboygan Liberty Coalition
- Judi Pool, Plymouth
- Carla Ledesma, Hartford City of Wauwatosa
- Dale Kretz, Sussex
- Barbara Van Clake, Oshkosh City of Omro, WMCA
- Chris Astrella, Sun Prairie Town of Blooming Grove

Appearances for Information Only

- David Becker, Washington Pew Center on the States
- Justin Levitt, New York Brennan Center for Justice

- Sue Edman, Milwaukee City of Milwaukee
- Dianne Hermann-Brown, Sun Prairie Wisconsin Municipal Clerks Association
- Bob Ohlsen, Waunakee Dane County
- Andrea Kaminski, Madison League of Women Voters of Wisconsin Education Fund
- Becky Simpson, Dane Village of Dane
- Sue Strands, Fond du Lac City Clerk, City of Fond du Lac

Registrations For

- Joanna Ricca, Milwaukee
- Beverly Speer, Madison Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
- Scott Spector, Madison AFT-WI
- Kim Warkentin, Fitchburg
- Jorna Taylor, Milwaukee
- Jill Hynum, Madison
- Lawrence Peterson, Stoughton
- Mark Reihl, Madison WI State Council of Carpenters
- Bethany Ordaz, Madison SEIU
- Susan McMurphy, Madison AFSCME C-4
- Douglas Burnett, Madison AFSCME International
- Matt Brusky, Milwaukee Citizen Action of WI
- Anne Sayers, Madison WI League of Conservation Voters
- Shirley Haidinger, Madison
- Bruce Speight WISPIRG

Registrations Against

- Jim Ott, Mequon Representative, 23rd Assembly District
- Sue Peck, Marshall WI Municipal Clerks
- Sheryl Schienermann, Weyauwega City of Weyauwega
- Becky Loehrke, Weyauwega City of Weyauwega
- Melissa Klein, Dousman Town of Ottawa
- Barb Whitmore, Genesee Depot
- Sherri Endres Clerk Treasurer, Town of Springfield
- Karen Stritchko, South Milwaukee City of South Milwaukee
- Andrew Davis, Madison Republican Party of WI
- Steven Welcenbach, Menomonee
- Roberto Dean, Madison
- Nicholas Mundt, Madison
- Kirsten Lombard, Madison
- Thomas Preusker, Burlington
- Nona Schumann, Brookfield
- Todd Wule, Appleton

- Ardis Cerny, Pewaukee
- Mary Ann Hanson, Brookfield

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 1, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Representatives Smith, Soletski, Kessler, A.

Williams, Roys, Pridemore and Roth.

Absent: (1) Representative Stone.

Moved by Representative A. Williams, seconded by Representative Soletski that **Assembly Bill 895** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Smith, Soletski, Kessler, A. Williams and Roys.

Noes: (2) Representatives Pridemore and Roth.

Absent: (1) Representative Stone.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 2

Andrea Wahl Committee Clerk