Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Elections and Campaign Reform

Assembly Bill 892

Relating to: electronic voter registration and proof of residence for voting in an election and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Berceau, Parisi, Black, Smith, Turner, Pope-Roberts, Zepnick, Roys and Hebl; cosponsored by Senators Risser, Taylor and Miller.

March 24, 2010 Referred to Committee on Elections and Campaign Reform.

March 31, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (7) Representatives Smith, Soletski, Kessler, A.

Williams, Roys, Pridemore and Roth.

Absent: (1) Representative Stone.

Appearances For

- Christa Peters, Madison AFT-WI
- Jorna Taylor, Milwaukee
- Kim Warkentin, Fitchburg
- Terese Berceau, Madison Representative, 76th Assembly District
- Fred Risser, Madison Senator, 26th Senate District
- Nat Robinson, Madison Government Accountability Board
- Shane Falk, Madison Government Accountability Board
- Andrea Kaminski, Madison League of Women Voters of Wisconsin Education Fund
- Alicia Boehme, Madison Disability Rights of WI
- Paul Malischke, Madison Fair Elections Wisconsin
- Maribeth Witzel-Behl, Madison City of Madison
- Chris Astrella, Sun Prairie Town of Blooming Grove

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Justin Levitt, New York Brennan Center for Justice
- Sue Edman, Milwaukee City of Milwaukee
- Dianne Hermann-Brown, Sun Prairie Wisconsin Municipal Clerks Association

Registrations For

- Scott Spector, Madison AFT-WI
- Jill Hynum, Madison
- Lawrence Peterson, Stoughton
- Beverly Speer, Madison Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
- Sybil Better, Madison
- Susan McMurray, Madison AFSCME
- Douglas Burnett, Madison AFSCME International
- Anne Sayers, Madison WI League of Conservation Voters
- Shirley Haidinger, Madison
- Jeff Smith, Eau Claire Representative, 93rd Assembly District

Registrations Against

- Sue Peck, Marshall WI Municipal Clerks
- Jim Ott, Mequon Representative, 23rd Assembly District
- Thomas Preusker, Burlington

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 22, 2010 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Andrea Wahl Committee Clerk