## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

### **Committee on Labor**

#### **Assembly Bill 831**

Relating to: prohibiting discrimination against an employee who declines to attend an employer-sponsored meeting or to participate in any communication with the employer or with an agent, representative, or designee of the employer, the primary purpose of which is to communicate the opinion of the employer about religious or political matters.

By Representatives Van Akkeren, Sinicki, Milroy, Berceau, Black, Pope-Roberts, Pasch, Young, Pocan, Turner and Grigsby; cosponsored by Senators Coggs, Hansen, Lassa, Kreitlow, Wirch and Taylor.

March 11, 2010 Referred to Committee on Labor.

#### March 24, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (8) Representatives Sinicki, Jorgensen, Parisi, Toles, Soletski, Honadel, Nass and Knodl.

Excused: (1) Representative Van Akkeren.

#### Appearances For:

- Adam Plotkin, Madison Leg. Staff, Office of Senator Spencer Coggs, 6th District, WI State Senate
- Danny McGowan, Green Bay Legislative Liaison, Wisconsin Teamsters Joint Council 39
- David Reardon, Mosinee Secretary Treasurer, General Teamsters Local 662
- Tom Strickland, Oconto Falls Business Rep., General Teamsters Local 662 (Green Bay)
- Tom Kanack, Milwaukee Business Rep., Teamsters Local 344
- Ron Falkowski, Milwaukee Teamsters Local 200
- Jerry Jacobs, Louis Sorenson Rd Secretary Treasurer, Teamsters Local 43 (Racine)
- Vangie Moreno, Muskego Organizer, Int'l Brotherhood of Teamsters
- Gene Gowey, Sparta Recording Secretary, Teamsters Local 695 (Madison)
- Christine Ballewske, Racine Teamsters

- Mark Weissbrodt, Muskego Teamsters Local 344
- Randall Knox, Whitewater United Food & Commercial Workers, Local 1473

### Appearances Against:

- John Metcalf, Madison WI Manufacturing & Commerce
- John Murray, Milwaukee

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For:

- Terry Van Akkeren, Madison Rep., 26th District, Wisconsin State Assembly
- Werner Holzworth, South Milwaukee Teamsters Local 200
- Markl Herrmann, Oregon Teamsters
- Tim Pinterg, West Allis Teamsters Local 200
- Brian Quandt, Bonduel Teamsters
- Jack Redmond, Oak Creek Teamsters Local 344
- William Roeth, Madison Teamsters
- Cal Rosser, Watertown Teamsters Local 200
- Robert Schlieve, Sr. Teamsters Local 662
- Steve Severson, La Crosse Teamsters
- Patrick Tappa, New Berlin Teamsters Local 344
- Brian Zemecnik, Racine Teamsters Local 200
- Dave Backmann, Racine Operating Engineers
- Terry Dabb, Manitowoc Operating Engineers
- Leonard Shelton, Prairie du Sac Operating Engineers
- Travis Martzahc, Hartford Operating Engineers Local 139
- Troy Littlejohn, La Crosse Operating Engineers Local 139
- Ryab Oehlhof, Madison Operating Engineers
- Jerry Klubertanz, Madison Operating Engineers Local 139
- Thad Steinke, Janesville Operating Engineers Local 139
- Shane Griesbach, Hortoneville Operating Engineers Local 139
- Karen Black, La Crosse SEIU
- Polly Belcher, Milwaukee SEIU 1199
- Eyon Biddle, Milwaukee SEIU WI State Council
- Benjamin Dalsoren, Madison SEIU
- Wendy Frazier, Milwaukee SEIU-SNC
- Richard Glaser, Fond du Lac SEIU
- Alesher Glenn, Milwaukee SEIU
- Catherine Graham, Madison SEIU

- Bernice Hanke, Brownsville SEIU Home Care Union
- Anna Zachow, Stevens Point SEIU
- Eugene Hanke, Brownsville SEIU Home Care Union
- Dawn Hite, Antigo SEIU
- Amara Lawson, Milwaukee SEIU Healthcare WI
- Beth Meidl, Phlox SEIU
- Norma Silas-Martin, Milwaukee SEIU Healthcare
- Ann Louise Tetreault, Madison SEIU Healthcare
- Yong Neng, La Crosse SEIU
- Chia Xijngwe, La Crosse SEIU
- Samantha Zachow, Stevens Point SEIU
- Bethany Ordaz, Madison SEIU
- Anthony Dimond, Reedsburg Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers & Trainmen
- Delores Copening, Milwaukee
- Angel Davila, Racine
- Mark Gauf, Reedsburg
- Scott Hanson, Madison
- Bessie Mae Harvey, Milwaukee
- Paul Hiro, Fond du Lac Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers & Trainmen
- Jeryllyn Jeans, Milwaukee
- Kelvin Jefferson, Milwaukee
- Beth Kirchman, DePere
- Mike Koziara, Holmen BMWED/Int'l Brotherhood of Teamsters
- Ruthie Lacy, Racine
- Vernon Lynn, Milwaukee
- Jacqueline McElroy, Milwaukee
- Joseph Panosh, Manitowoc BMWE/USO
- Diane Perry, Green Bay
- Brad Schwanda, Oak Creek
- Karlton Scott, Olympia Fields
- Alicia Treadwell, Milwaukee
- David Boetcher, Waunakee IBEW WI State Conference
- Tim Deneen, Madison State Director, United Transportation Union
- Tim Elverman, Milwaukee Plumbers Local 75
- Sam Gallo, Milwaukee Workers United
- Susan McMurray, Madison AFSCME
- Phil Neuenfeldt, Milwaukee WI State AFL-CIO
- Mark Reihl, Madison WI State Council of Carpenters
- Scott Spector, Madison Government Relations Representative, AFT-Wisconsin

## Registrations Against:

- Paul Merline, Madison WI Hospital Assoc.
- Bill G. Smith, Madison National Federation of Independent Business
- Trisha Pugal, Brookfield WI Innkeepers Assn
- Marc Bentley, Madison Marten Transport
- Tom Howells, Madison WI Motor Carriers Assoc
- Ed Lump, Madison WI Restaurant Association

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

#### April 7, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (6) Representatives Sinicki, Jorgensen, Parisi,

Toles, Soletski and Nass.

Excused: (3) Representatives Van Akkeren, Honadel and

Knodl.

Moved by Representative Parisi, seconded by Representative Jorgensen that **Assembly Bill 831** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Sinicki, Jorgensen, Parisi,

Toles and Soletski.

Noes: (1) Representative Nass.

Excused: (3) Representatives Van Akkeren,

Honadel and Knodl.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED: Ayes 5, Noes 1

Mary Beth George, Committee Clerk